Waha Nui

The Fellows of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners have inducted Lenora Lorenzo of Haleiwa into their circle of honored NPs. Only the second Fellow from Hawaii, Lenora works for the Department of Veterans Affairs … Brianna Acosta (Waialua 2009) was crowned the 2013 Miss Hawaii USA last month – that’s on top of being a model, social media intern and senior journalism student at UH.


Image 1 of 2

Brianna Acosta

Brianna also has mentored her alma mater’s robotics team … Mililani High soccer standout Elan Yogi is a finalist for Hawaii’s Wendy’s High School Heisman award program, which announces two state winners starting Nov. 5. Honorees are picked for dedication and achievements in sports, academics and leadership …

90-year-old North Shore adventuress and kayaker Audrey Sutherland has released her third book, Paddling North – a compilation of two of her many trips to Alaska. For much, much more, visit the publisher at patagonia.com … Mililani’s Thomas Obungen is officially among the “Top 15 Social Media Personalities in Hawaii” and was so honored at the Oct. 17 Social Media Summit in Honolulu. Thomas writes a food column for the student newspaper at HPU, where he’s a senior studying strategic communications, advertising and public relations … The Surfrider Foundation will honor Charles Moore (Lifetime Achievement Award), Muumuu Heaven (Environmentally Friendly Hawaii-based Company Award) and Torry Meister (Professional Surfer Award) at its annual banquet, set for Nov. 17 at Waimea Valley Pavilion. Tickets cost $60 presale or $70 at the door (240-1096) … Christopher Murphy Jr. (Leilehua 2005) and Aliimatai Tuitoelau (Leilehua 2009) have graduated from One Station Unit Training, basic and advanced (for military police), at Fort Leonard Wood, Mo. … Latest lucky slotplayers in downtown Las Vegas: Wahiawa’s Jane Oda $17,560, Wallace Sekigawa $16,000, Victorina Ferido $8,705 and Lauretta Sewake $6,500; Mililani’s Suk Oshima $6,000, Blaine Kato $5,000, Lance Higa $4,000, Jerry Bona $4,000 and Alvin Kuramoto $4,000; and Haleiwa’s Katherine Kawaguchi