Waha Nui – 12/4/13

Aina Haina attorney Lowell Chun-Hoon has won the Trailblazer award for his “remarkable lifetime record” as a minority advocate. It was presented last month at the National Asian Pacific American Bar Asso-ciation convention in Kansas City, Mo. While at Yale and UCLA, and at Berkeley law school, Lowell actively fought for better conditions, degree programs and correct textbook content on behalf of Asian Americans. Back home, he has been fighting for Chinatown tenants and on many related issues for more than three decades …


Image 1 of 2

Paul Kobayashi Jr.

Kahala actor Joji Yoshida shares some screen time with Matthew McConaughey in the new hit film Dallas Buyers Club, which opened Nov. 22 at Kahala Mall theaters … Kaimuki’s Calvin Young, a UH law school graduate, is the 2014 president of Hawaii State Bar Association, sworn in Sept. 27 at its annual meeting … Dr. Michael Duick, CEO of Islands Hospice, which has a Palolo facility, announced that the agency is expanding to Maui where there currently are no in-patient hospice beds for end-of-life care …

UH Foundation welcomes East Oahu’s Paul Kobayashi Jr. as its new vice president for adminstration and CFO. Paul brings plenty of corporate experience to the task with previous work at UH, Hawaiian Airlines and various finance posts elsewhere … New board members at Kahala Senior Living Community: banker and retired physician Kenneth Miller, engineer and healthcare executive Steve Robertson and geriatric doctor Shari Kogan

Speaking of boards, East Oahu philanthropist and community leader Valerie Ossipoff has joined the board of directors for the Kohala Center, a nonprofit center for research, education and conservation on Hawaii island … Kaiser’s Justin Isobe and Natalie Fong both won scholarships from the Hawaii State FCU; Natalie also got a $1,000 Longs Drugs grant, as did Tryston-Josiah Lina of Anuenue, Michelle Corpuz of Kaimuki and Lauren Seki of Kalani …

Takitani Foundation 2013 scholars include Kalani’s Sylvia Koo ($5,000 for Karen Uno Outstanding Student Award), Sacred Hearts’ Kelly Zheng ($3,000), and $1,000 to finalists Nadege Lum of Kaiser and Tani Nakashima of Kaimuki