Trojans Place 10 On OIA West All-Star Baseball Team

Mililani High School’s stellar play on the baseball diamond was not lost on OIA West coaches who chose six Trojans as First Team All-Stars.

Making the First Team from Mililani were catcher Sean Sonognini, pitcher Micah Chinen, second baseman Jarrin Morikawa, third baseman CJ Ibara, outfielder Kaimana Souza-Paaluhi and designated hitter Ryan Kono.

Mililani also boasted four players on the Second Team: pitcher Koa Eastlack, first baseman
Ty De Sa, shortstop Justice Nakagawa and outfielder Kainoa Wilson.

The Trojans began the season with a nine-game win streak, which helped them secure the No. 2 seed from the West in the OIA tournament. They finished second to OIA champion Campbell.

Logging 14-5 record overall, the Trojans followed up the OIA tournament by finishing fourth at the Division I state tournament.

This marked the third consecutive year that the team finished in the top four in the state after runner-up finishes the past two seasons.

As for Leilehua High School’s baseball team, pitcher Trayson Kubo was named to the OIA Second Team. A senior, Kubo posted a 4-3 record with a pair of saves. He had an ERA of 1.23 with 70 strikeouts against just 27 walks.

Leilehua went 6-8-1 overall, including a 5-6-1 mark in the West. A 3-1 win over the Campbell Sabers April 8 highlighted the season.

Leilehua and Mililani were the only two teams to defeat the Sabers, who finished as both the OIA and DI state champion.

Leilehua also saw Trey Yukumoto, Kebi Dellatan, Wayne Abear, Jared Academia, Cody Segawa, Teaugan Eckstrom and Rick Van Gelder earn Honorable Mentions.

In DII, Waialua had five players earn Honorable Mentions. They were Virgilio Bareng, Royce Tashiro, Matthan Hatchie, Dane Little and Mila Lele.

The Bulldogs went 3-7 during the regular season and qualified for the OIA DII tournament, where they were defeated in the first round by Kalaheo.