Kahuku Girls Polo Dominates

When it comes to the OIA, the Kahuku girls water polo team practically can sign its own figure to the conference checkbook. Indeed, since water polo became an officially sanctioned sport in 2004, the Red Raiders have won the league title in all but one season.

Nohea Kahalelio did her part to make sure the Red Raiders’ dominance continued this spring, tallying 36 goals to help Kahuku to the 2014 OIA title as well as a third-place finish at the Stanford Carr Development, LLC Girls’ State Water Polo Championships.

Kahalelio was named the OIA girls water polo Player of the Year, the league announced recently.

Kahalelio saved some her biggest efforts for her biggest games. She scored four goals April 26 to lead the Red Raiders to an 11-6 win over Mililani in the OIA title game, and added five goals at the state tournament. This is the second year in a row that she was chosen as the OIA’s Player of the Year. She helped lead Kahuku to a runner-up finish at the State Tournament in 2013.

She was joined on the OIA’s First Team by her sister Kahea Kahalelio, who had another stellar year in her own right.

Kahea scored 39 goals this spring, including eight in the recent State Tournament. It also is the second consecutive year she was a First Team All-Conference choice, as selected by the OIA coaches in a vote at season’s end.

Red Raiders’ Makana Leiataua was named Coach of the Year for the second straight year as well. She led Kahuku to a 15-1 overall mark. The Red Raiders’ only loss came to runner-up Iolani at the State Tournament.

Kahuku teammates Lilli Lindgard and Jake Anderson were chosen for the Second Team from Kahuku. Anderson scored 26 goals for Kahuku this spring, while Lindgard tallied 15. Tiana Kahauolopua, India Pyzel and Auri Kunz were named to the Honorable Mention Team from Kahuku.

Castle, which finished 4-5 overall, had a pair of players make the Honorable Mention Team: Erin Kanda and Nikki Imanaka. The Knights were the only other

Windward team — aside from OIA champ Kahuku — to make Bracket A for the second half of the league’s regular season.

Kalaheo placed a trio of players on the Honorable Mention Team — Nicole Grimm, Lilly Azouz and Denali Jackson. The Mustangs had a winning season this spring, posting a 6-5 overall record.

Earning Honorable Mention from Kailua (2-9 record) were Kulia Albinio, Kamalei Delima-Richardson, Rachel Welch and Kainani Peters.