Ewa Makai’s Edward Oshiro Earns School Leadership Award

Edward Oshiro

Ewa Makai Middle School principal Edward Oshiro (second from right) received the 2014 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award. Pictured with him are (from left) Tyler Tokioka, president of Island Insurance Foundation; semi-finalist Wade Araki, principal of Kaimuki High School; semi-finalist Ernest Muh, principal of Helemano Elementary; and state schools superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi. Photo courtesy of Island Insurance.

Ewa Makai Middle School principal Edward Oshiro is this year’s winner of the Island Insurance Foundation Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award.

Oshiro was recognized and presented with his award during the Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation Dinner May 1 at Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The award is named after the late founder of Island Insurance and is designed to honor public school principals who demonstrate exemplary leadership within their schools and communities.

“Principal Oshiro exemplifies the type of leadership that can transform our public schools into model learning institutions,” stated foundation president Tyler Tokioka.

“By recognizing outstanding principals such as Edward,” he explained, “it is our hope that his accomplishments will inspire others in public education.”

As a part of the award, Oshiro received a check for $25,000 — $15,000 of which will go to a school project of his choice, while the remaining $10,000 will serve as an additional cash reward.

Oshiro plans to use the funds to launch a campus center that can be used by parents, families and the community for training, work opportunities, volunteer work and homework assistance.

Oshiro has been principal at Ewa Makai Middle School since it opened in 2010, and throughout that time one of his main points of focus as an educator has been to ensure that all of his students are adept at using modern technology.

Accordingly, he has created a digital media program in which students use technology daily.

The program aims to expand students’ technological knowledge while also making other curriculum relevant to them.

“In looking back to the early months of this newly formed school to the present,” said vice principal Ursula Kawaguchi, “I would say that, because of Mr. Oshiro’s vision, the students of Ewa Makai Middle School have experienced a learning environment unlike any other in the state of Hawaii.”

“The impact of his efforts,” she added, “is evident in the growth of student and staff success, innovative new initiatives in the use of technology and promotion of sustainability and the positive effects that have extended beyond the school.”

Doreen Higa, principal of Momilani Elementary School in Pearl City, also was nominated for the award. She earned $1,000 and a commemorative plaque.