Campbell Pitcher Named OIA Red West Player Of The Year

On a team with no shortage of stars, Campbell High’s Dorrien Villanueva-Hermosura still managed to find a way to stand out from his peers. The pitcher/first baseman completed a stellar junior season recently by being selected as the OIA Red West Player of the Year in a vote of league coaches.

Villanueva-Hermosura batted .357 for the year and produced a sparkling ERA of just 1.30 in 32.5 innings pitched. He compiled a 4-0 record with a save for the Sabers, who won their first 11 games. Campbell finished 16-2 overall en route to winning the OIA Red. The Sabers also made the semifinals of the Division I state baseball tournament, eventually finishing third.

Campbell’s Rory Pico was named Red West Coach of the Year by his peers.

The Sabers boasted a league-best four First Team All-Conference picks, including catcher Tryzen Patricio, pitcher Ian Kahaloa and outfielders Blayze Arcano-Llacuna and Dewayne Sprinkel.

Campbell also had four players make the Red West’s Second Team: pitcher Zachary Kapihe, first baseman Zachary Recolan, third baseman Keola Himan and shortstop Jobe Ibana. Teammate Jake Mendoza earned Honorable Mention.

* Aiea placed a trio of players on the Red West’s First Team, including second baseman Jaryn Nakamoto, third baseman Eola Liwai Manoa and designated hitter Jayvin Alcantra.

Na Ali’i finished 6-12 on the season and was the only other team from the Red West to earn one of the OIA’s berths for the Division I state baseball tournament. Earning Honorable Mention from Aiea were Jarred Uyeda, Jansen Kudaishi, Dylan Madamba, Jared Alcantra, Kobe Kato, Hunter Yara, Makana Ah Yo and Chaz Querbral-Acosta.

* Senior pitcher Dylan Sugimoto was named to the First Team from Waipahu, which finished 7-8 on the year. Sugimoto wrapped up a noteworthy career for the Marauders that included being chosen as the OIA Red West’s Player of the Year as a junior in 2013.

Teammates Kobie Russell and Rustin Ho were named to the league’s Second Team at second base and in the outfield, respectively.

Earning Honorable Mention from Waipahu were Patrick Villanueva, Tyler Enos, Shilo Baniaga and Oakland Scanlan.

* Dylan White made the First Team from Kapolei as a first baseman. The Hurricanes won four of their last six games to ensure making the OIA playoffs.

Teammate Aizon Kahana was chosen for the Second Team as an outfielder, while Jaryn Bulseco and Kaimi Kalaola earned Honorable Mentions.

* Tanner Tokunaga made the First Team from Pearl City as a utility player, while teammate Davin Kapuras earned Honorable Mention.