Central Softball All-Stars

With underclassmen throughout their lineup, the Mililani softball team looked to be a year away from being in the mix for another OIA Division I title.

With nine wins in a row to start the season, however, the Trojans served notice that they were, indeed, a prototypical Mililani team. The Trojans delivered in a big way last month, capturing their second-straight OIA Division I title.

Mililani’s efforts did not go unnoticed by opposing coaches, who selected five Trojans as either First or Second Team All-Stars.

Making the First Team were pitcher Aubree Kim, first baseman Kylie-Ann Bello and outfielder Brooke Yasuda.

Bello set the offensive tone for Mililani, hitting .519 with three home runs and 14 RBI.

In addition to her stellar play in the outfield, Yasuda scored nine runs and drove in eight.

Kim was the West’s 2014 Player of the Year after leading Mililani to both the OIA and state titles.

She figured huge again for the Trojans this year, going 13-2 on the mound with a 3.46 ERA.

Mililani finished 15-3, and followed up its OIA title run by advancing to the championship game of the state tournament, where they were defeated by Campbell 16-4.

Sophomore third baseman Merilis Rivera and junior outfielder Kristen Ishii were chosen for the Second Team from Mililani. Rivera batted .444 to go with a teamhigh five home runs and 28 RBI. Ishii hit .500 and drove in 11 runs.

Mililani also placed Marikie Okamoto, Keri Togami, Maya Yoshiura and Tristan Cozo on the Honorable Mention Team.

Leilehua’s Ashley Salausa made the West’s Second Team as an outfielder. A sophomore, Salausa batted .379 for the Mules this season.

The Mules also placed Tiana Kawelo-Cantero, Chelsea Lobitos and Chasity Stalcup on the Honorable Mention Team.

Leilehua went 7-12 this season, including a 4-8 mark in OIA games.

The Mules entered the OIA Division I tournament as the West’s No. 5 seed. A first-round win over East No. 4 seed Moanalua helped Leilehua secure the league’s sixth and final berth in the Division I state tournament.

In Division II, Waialua boasted a pair of First Team All-Stars in junior outfielder Selena Victoria and freshman utility player Andrea Dicion. Both were instrumental in helping the Bulldogs advance to the Division II state tournament.

The Bulldogs also had Alaina Bayudan, Laola Pang, Azure Agricula- McCormick, Kiani Ekamrak and Christel Agtina make the Honorable Mention Team.