Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

Aiea Soccer Star Named OIA Red West Player Of The Year

Aiea High soccer player Raisa Strom-Okimoto recently was named OIA Red West Conference Player of the Year. (All-Conference teams are selected in a vote of coaches at season’s end.) A senior, Strom-Okimoto tallied 18 goals to finish the season as the state’s second-leading-scorer behind Kama Pascua of Iolani, who totaled 19 goals. A mid-fielder, she scored 14 goals during the regular season and added four more in the playoffs for Aiea, which finished 6-10 overall (4-6 in the OIA). Aiea also qualified for the Division I state soccer tournament.

In addition to Strom-Okimoto being named to the First Team, Na Ali’i also had Leah Pajimula, Cierra Hamilton, Taylor Cazimero-Bushaw, Mapu Tauala, Jazlin Ching, Taylor Colona and Mariah Balmaceda earn Honorable Mention.

Kapolei was also well-represented on the Red West All-Conference team, after going 11-4-1 overall (7-2-1 in league games). The Hurricanes finished as the OIA Tournament runner-up to Moanalua and went on to win the consolation bracket at the Division I state soccer tournament.

Paige Mahuka (attacker), Arielle Stoyanow (midfielder) and defenders Hailey Berg and Misty Kaiwi all were chosen to the First Team from Kapolei. Mahuka finished the season as leading scorer with nine goals. Bianca Gonzales (attacker) and Kaylynn Gallarde (midfielder) were both named to the Second Team, while Deylynn White and Kai Mahuka earned Honorable Mention.

Pearl City also had another stellar season in the Red West, finishing 10-3-4 overall (6-0-4 in OIA games) en route to another appearance in the DI soccer state tournament. Nikki Suwa was named to the First Team as a midfielder. The Chargers also had a pair of Second Team selections in both Lyndsey Watanabe (attacker) and Tiffany Yamanouchi (defender), while Alix Suwa, Lauren Takai, Kristen Maeno and Kayleigh Concepcion received Honorable Mention.

Campbell was led by Sha’tres Ah Nee, who was named to the First Team, who finished 6-5-2 overall (5-3-2 in OIA games). Soccer teammates Taylor Cabbab and Jaissa Cadelinia were chosen to the Second Team. Both are defenders.

Waipahu also had a banner year, bringing home the OIA White championship, the first in the school’s history. Among the Marauders’ key components was goalkeeper Kimi Kaniaupio, who was named a Second Team All-Star. She posted four shutouts and yielded a single goal in three other contests for Waipahu, which finished 9-6 overall. The Marauders went on to finish sixth at the DII state tournament. It marked their second straight state tournament appearance.

Waipahu head coach Elaina Paredes was chosen as the West’s Coach of the Year.

Jahna Tacson, Alyssa Almogela, Kristel Rodillas, Katelyn Onaga, Jodi Shibata and Jessica Gonzales also received Honorable Mention from Waipahu.