Windward Leaders Tapped For DOE Principal ‘Roundtable’

The state Department of Education has formed a new group to tackle barriers to effective leadership, with four Windward Oahu administrators among them: Francine Honda of Kailua High, Naomi Matsuzaki of Kahaluu Elementary, Deborah Nekomoto of Kapunahala Elementary and Keoni Wilhelm of Mokapu Elementary schools.

As a former principal himself, DOE deputy superintendent Ron Nozoe acknowledged the daily challenges school leaders face, noting the select new group is dedicated and committed to transforming public education. Nearly 40 people were nominated for the new panel of 14 principals, as well as all 12 members of the HGEA Unit 6 board of directors.

Called the statewide Deputy Superintendent’s Principal Roundtable, it’s meeting over the summer to establish priorities to “improve communication, garner feedback, develop collaborative solutions to critical challenges and identify individuals for future … leadership positions and opportunities.”

“We hope to create solutions that will transition into meaningful change to positively impact the everyday work of the principals and vice principals,” stated HGEA executive director Randy Perreira. “We look forward to working with all stakeholders to support these efforts.”