West Teams Are OIA Soccer Honorees

You know it’s a banner year for boys prep soccer on the West side when Aiea, Campbell, Kapolei and Pearl City all post winning seasons. All four programs were well-represented when the OIA Western Conference’s All Star teams were announced.

Kapolei, which went 9-0-1 to tie Mililani for the West Division title, had a trio of First Team selections in attackers Dylan Orian and Keo Ponce and defender Brandon Begonia.

The Hurricanes also placed goal-keeper Aldo Ramirez, mid-fielder Shandon Hopeau and defender Max Wren on the West’s Second Team. (The OIA’s All Conference selections are made in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.) Clarence Wong, Lyric De Leon, Vineal Singh and CJ Harvey also received Honorable Mention from Kapolei, which finished 12-3-1 overall en route to a state tournament appearance.

Pearl City had three players on the First Team, including goalkeeper Jared Louis, mid-fielder Andrew Tanaka and defender Tyler Terashima. Teammate and attacker Lane Tomita made the Second Team from Pearl City, while Matthew Cabacungan, Paul Enriquez, Sean Baker, Carter Casuga and Christian Nakabayashi received Honorable Mention. The Chargers finished 7-3 in the West.

Jason Chancheck made the First Team from Campbell as a defender, while Saber teammates Tevin Sales and Chay “Boogie” Mattos were chosen to the Second Team. The Sabers, who finished their season at 6-2-1, also placed Ikaika Wilkerson, Bryson Maximo, Keenan Soares, Tyler Subia and Deshawn Azucena as Honorable Mentions.

Mid-fielder David Lam was First Team choice from Aiea, which went 5-5-1 during its Western Division slate. Na Ali’i’s Jon Shirafuji was chosen as the West’s Coach of the Year by his peers. Receiving Honorable Mention from Aiea were Cedric De Francia and Brooks Tanonaka.

Waipahu’s Jayson Gon-salves, Desmond Mahor and Storm DeAsis also earned Honorable Mention. jackster.1969@yahoo.com Editor’s Note: Part 2 on girls’ soccer will run in next week’s edition.