Waipahu’s Vailuu Is Player Of The Year

Waipahu junior Luuga Vailuu was named OIA Red West boys volleyball Player of the Year, the league revealed recently. An outside hitter and middle blocker, Vailuu was a key component on a team that won 10 straight games before back-to-back losses to Moanalua and Roosevelt at the OIA post-season tournament ended its run.

OIA All-Star teams are chosen in a vote of league coaches at season’s end. Waipahu’s Julna Pasicaran was named Coach of the Year in the West by his peers.

Vailuu was joined on the West’s First Team by senior teammate Chayse Antonio. It marked the second year in a row Antonio earned All-Conference honors, having been a Second Team pick as a junior. Antonio also was a First Team ILH selection as a sophomore at Lanakila Baptist before transferring to Waipahu.

Senior Austin Viloria also made the Second Team from Waipahu, which has gone 23-5 over the past two seasons. The Marauders also placed Malutafa Bentley, Johnny Tuia and AJ Maiava as Honorable Mentions.

Jacob Ka’awa made the First Team from Campbell, which finished 9-9 overall. The Sabers also advanced to the Division II state tournament, finishing sixth. Ellery Vitug, Nio Poesi, Adam Amosa, Kepa Berengue and Filipo Maugaotega were named Honorable Mentions from Campbell.

Pearl City senior Luke Motoyama made the First Team, while teammates Tyson Hickcox and Derek Chang earned Honorable Mentions. Aiea had nine players make Honorable Mention: AJ Aleaga, Perritte Togafau, Nakamakaniolonahe Obrero, Kamakana Apelu, Kekoa Pi’ianaia, Michael Leui Jr., Zachary Barte, Keali’i Leopoldo and Chaz Kino.

Earning Honorable Mention from Kapolei were Isaiah Mo’o, Elias Mc-Moore, Tali Coleman, Masi Tunoa, Eleneki Fernandes and Tyler Yadao.

In track and field, Pearl City’s Diamond Briscoe was named OIA West Player of the Year. Briscoe was an individual state champion in the 400-yard dash recently with a time of 56.26. She also finished second in the 100. Her teammate Maile Shigemasa also made the West’s First Team, while Alexia Blalock was named to the Second Team.

Campbell’s Chantell Taito was a First Team pick, while the Shatres Ah Nee made the Second Team.

Nicole Puaa was a First Team honoree from Waipahu, which also placed Kayla Anela Obrero on the Second Team.

Megan Ma’afala-Maeva earned Second Team honors from Aiea.