Waipahu Volleyball Star Named OIA Player Of The Year

Waipahu senior Isaac Tusitala has been selected as the OIA Western Division Boys Volleyball Player of the Year.

A middle blocker/outside hitter, he was one of the catalysts for a team that went 14-4 en route to earning one of the league’s berths at the Division I state championships. Waipahu finished third in the OIA post-season tournament and was the Consolation Champion at the state tournament.

All-Star selections were made in a vote of Western Division coaches at season’s end.

“He’s a nice kid, very personable, and he seems very coachable,” Aiea head coach Erin Okamoto said. “On the court, he’s a coach’s dream. He can set, he can hit, he can hit from the back row … he’s a good all-around player – and I am glad he’s graduating,” she added with a laugh.

Senior teammates Stacen Konohia and Jordan Bee also made the First Team at outside hitter and libero, respectively. Chayse Antonio (setter/outside hitter) was picked for the Second Team from the Marauders, while Clyde Ortega, Luu Vailuu and Christopher Fidow received Honorable Mention.

Aiea, which went 7-4 on the season, had a First Team selection in senior Quentin Montgomery. Teammates Dylan Yukitomo and Faasau (Samson) Maeva were both chosen for the Second Team.

“Quentin matured a lot from his freshman year to now,” said Okamoto. “We had Dylan with us since he was a freshman, and he could play anywhere (position-wise). Samson played football, soccer and volleyball here.”

Na Ali’i also had a pair of Honorable Mention selections in both AJ Aleaga and Terence Fong.

Pearl City finished 11-6 under Stephanie Shigemasa, earning a state tournament berth in the process. The Chargers’ Joseph Hammond was named to the First Team, while teammate Kailon Sabate (libero) earned Second Team honors. Luke Motoyama, Chaz Ebisu, Ryan Arguelles and Derek Chang earned Honorable Mention.

Jacob Ka’awa earned Second Team honors for Campbell, which finished its season at 4-9. Nio Povesi, Adam Amosa, Dylan Falesea, Ellery Jay Vitug and Kepa Lau earned Honorable Mention.

Also earning Second Team All-Conference honors was Kalani Faumuina of Kapolei. The Hurricanes had five players – James Tusialofa, Truce Hodges, Eleneki Fernandes, Daniel Magaoay and Javen Dias – selected for Honorable Mention.