Waipahu Pitcher Wins Top OIA Honors

Waipahu senior Drake Yoshioka has been named OIA White Player of the Year.

The four-year varsity letterman was a catalyst this spring for the Marauders in their undefeated season. The team finished 15-0, winning both the OIA Division II title as well as the DII state championship last month.

In addition to his stellar pitching, Yoshioka also had a big season at the plate, batting .629 to go with seven extra-base hits, including four home runs. (The OIA’s All-Conference teams are chosen in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.)

Yoshioka was one of five First Team selections from Waipahu. He was joined by teammates Jarin Abreu (second base), Micah Luke (outfield), Dylan Sugimoto (outfield) and Matapua Tulafale (designated hitter).

Pitcher Dylan Sugimoto was chosen for the Second Team, while Justin Pagba and Justin Padilla were named Honorable Mentions. Waipahu’s Milton Takenaka was picked as the division’s Coach of the Year.

In Division I, Pearl City senior shortstop Tyler Tokunaga wrapped up a notable prep career as the OIA Red West Player of the Year. A shortstop/second baseman/pitcher, Tokunaga batted .409 for the Chargers, who finished 11-8 this spring en route to another appearance in the state tournament.

Also making the First Team from Pearl City were outfielder Tanner Tokunaga, brother of Tyler, and designated hitter Sean Milan. Third baseman Reid Akau made the Second Team.

Campbell High third baseman Cole Nagamine made the First Team from the Sabers, who went 8-8 on the season. They also had four Second Team selections in Kaeo Kapana (catcher), Rayven Kahana (first base), Paul Arakaki (outfielder) and Jasten Smeigh (pitcher). Donato Gallano, Ikaika Ramie and Jaris Flora earned Honorable Mention. Campbell’s Rory Pico also was picked as the division’s Coach of the Year.

Aiea, which finished 6-7 for the season, had a pair of First Team selections in second baseman Jason Agtang and out-fielder Keanu Arke. Teammate Trevor Ling was selected to the Second Team as an outfielder.

Kapolei put three players on the league’s First Team: William Leskovec (catcher), Robbie Depp (utility) and Trey Kamachi-Allen (pitcher). Hurricanes second baseman Jared Ragasa was named to the Second Team, while Josh Simmons made Honorable Mention.