Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

Waha Nui – 4/30/14

Laie Elementary principal Matt Ho and Enchanted Lake Elementary principal Pua McElhaney are among the finalists for the $25,000 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award, which will be announced Thursday. Both received $1,000 personal cash awards March 29. Matt is singled out for providing “high calibre learning opportunities,” and Pua’s faculty is grateful for the professional training and collaboration she’s fostered so they can help the children succeed …


Image 1 of 3

Bernard Kea Sr.

FOX Channel’s show The Mindy Project featured Kailua actress B.K. Cannon in a guest role as “Jenny” April 22. B.K. says it was “a lot of fun” to work with Mindy Kaling and cast … Le Jardin Academy’s Dillan Van Ness placed second in the 2014 Second Congressional District Art Competition for his “Trashy Wave,” awarded April 12 by U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard. Also in the finals was Kalaheo’s Kasey Kerbox for “Waimea Milky Way” …

There’s a reception at 5 p.m. May 10 at Gallery on the Pali for Kaneohe artist Jocelyn Cheng and others in Queen’s Medical Center’s “Healing Through Art” show (595-4047). An oncology nurse and cancer survivor herself, Jocelyn’s artistic talent blossomed during her recovery. She now helps other cancer patients in Queen’s Artist in Residency program …Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation honors Harold K.L. Castle Foundation as well as Jennifer Goto Sabas, a Kapunahala Elementary alumna and current director of Daniel K. Inouye Institute at an awards banquet May 1 in Waikiki (email pshf88@gmail.com) …

UH Manoa’s College of Engineering gave its 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award to Kaneohe’s Bernard Kea Sr. last week for extraordinary achievement and commitment to community service. Considered an adept problem-solver, Bernard’s public works projects ranged from residential subdivisions to golf courses and shopping centers across Oahu until his retirement in 2008 … Kaneohe’s Nichole Adolpho made the fall dean’s list at Loyola University in Maryland