Two Kapolei Seniors Named To OIA First Team All-Stars

Kapolei seniors Curtis Tavares and Chris Dillard had a big hand in lifting the Hurricanes into the high-rent district of prep basketball over the past two seasons.

Both were recognized recently for their efforts when they were named OIA West First Team All-Stars.

Tavares also was chosen Player of the Year in the West in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

Kapolei finished this season 12-3 after going 15-3 in 2011-12. It also made the Division I state tournament for a second consecutive year, and was OIA runner-up in 2011-12.

Tavares averaged 9.9 points per game this season, including 28 three-pointers, while Dillard was an imposing presence inside, scoring at a 9.5 clip.

Teammates Elijah Gipson, Zach Reeves, Joshua Wills, Dorian Antonio-Martos, Micah Kapoi and Elia McKeague were named Honorable Mention.

Sonny Glisson was named to the First Team from Pearl City, which went 11-5 en route to a state tournament appearance of its own. The Chargers also placed senior Tyson Hickcox on the Second Team.

Isaac Amorin, Cory Briscoe and Reymart Rosario received Honorable Mention, and coach Lionel Villarmia was selected Coach of the Year by his peers.

Junior Gilbert Dayanan made the First Team from Campbell, which finished 7-6. Teammates Solomon Leaeno, Jayce Bantolina, Justin Tago-Sue and Brannon Cody Bantolina received Honorable Mention.

Honorable Mentions from Aiea were Bryson Naito, Aryn Antonio, Christian Maglaya, Kimo Souza and Mana Kaahanui.

Waipahu had four Honorable Mentions: Jed Pagtulingan, Keanu DeBoma, Triton Tatupu and Brendan Mendoza-Bulong.

In girls basketball, Aiea placed a pair on the OIA White Conference’s Second Team in junior Mich’Lae Higa and senior Pumehana Beltran. Both were instrumental in leading Na Ali’i to a 6-6 season this winter, which included a first-place finish in the White West Division.

Aiea beat three Division I teams (Campbell, Kapolei and Waianae) during the season and had Allysha Cooper-Tabisola, Natasha Maroney and Paula Mauga named Honorable Mention.

Marie Togiailua was an Honorable Mention from Campbell, which finished 3-7.

Kapolei, which finished with a winning season at 6-5, also was well-represented among Honorable Mentions with Amayha Dycus, Anna-Jean Souza, Chermayne Yago, Malia Folaumahina and Raquel Lasconia earning the distinction.

Honorable Mentions from Waipahu were Nicole Puaa, Patrisha Malala, Phil-Joyce Felicitas and Tammy Viliamu.