Trojan Is Best In The West

Mililani’s Kristen Miguel has been named the Oahu Interscholastic Association Western Division’s Volleyball Player of the Year, the league revealed recently.

A senior outside hitter, Miguel was among key components for a Mililani team that went 12-3 this fall.

“We knew Kristen was Mililani’s go-to girl,” said Aiea head coach Kory Toyozaki. “We did our best to slow her down, but she’s a ‘game’ player — she does her job regardless.”

(OIA volleyball All-Stars are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.)

The Trojans won 10 of their first 11 matches, including a stretch of eight wins in a row. All told, Mililani went 34 days — beginning in mid-September — without suffering a defeat.

The Trojans finished third in the OIA post-season tournament to earn a berth in the New City Nissan Division I State Volleyball Tournament. A first-round loss to Waiakea ended Mililani’s hopes for a state title, but the Trojans finished their 2014 season on a winning note by defeating Kamehameha-Maui in the consolation round.

Mililani sophomore Hope Carter also was chosen to the First Team as a setter.

Trojan teammates Sarah Legalley and Kayla Magbaleta were chosen for the Second Team at outside hitter and libero, respectively.

Receiving Honorable Mention honors from Mililani were Katie Asberry and Nina Torio.

Leilehua’s Elisha Levasa made the First Team as an outside hitter.

The Mules went 7-4 overall this fall, including a 7-3 mark in the OIA Western Division. A loss to Castle in the first round of the OIA Tournament ended Leilehua’s bid for a State Tournament berth.

Leilehua also had Saramasina Docktor, Ember Punahele-Manea, Jordan Tolentino and Tiana Cantero-Kawelo chosen for the Honorable Mention Team.

Despite going winless in the West, Waialua had several players recognized individually, as Leaa Puleiala, Shaina Dingal, Jaceillan Malolebe, Amber Ho, Mariah Pao, Gabriella Delgado and Kyra Miller earned Honorable Mention Honors.