Three Aiea Volleyball Players Named OIA West All-Stars

The Aiea girls volleyball team will remember 2013 as the year it officially returned to the high-rent district of the sport.

Under first-year head coach Kory Toyozaki, who coached Pearl City the previous two years, Aiea went 8-6 overall versus OIA opponents, including a 6-4 mark in the West. Above all, it was one of three West Oahu schools to earn league berths in the Division I state tournament, marking Aiea’s first state appearance since 2009. Aiea had gone just 4-6 in 2012 before Toyozaki’s arrival. Na Ali’i won six of their first seven games this season to kick-start the turnaround.

Three Aiea players were named OIA West All-Stars when the league revealed its All-Conference teams recently: seniors Megan Maafala-Maiava and Roina Maafala, as well as freshman Destyni Grace. Both Maafala-Maiva and Roina Maafala were outside hitters/middle blockers, and Grace was a setter. (The OIA’s All-Star teams are selected in a vote of coaches at season’s end.)

“It was a total team effort, and that showed with the All-Star teams, as no one really stood out,” Toyozaki said. “They all did what they had to do for the team.

“I’m really proud of Megan, Roina and Destyni,” she added. “They all worked hard and deserved it. It was nice to see our freshman (Destyni) recognized. She’s a hard worker who already is running on her own (to get ready) for next year.”

Aiea also had four players – Mich’lae Higa, Paula Mao-Tamasese, Leleo Maeva and Lole Kalani-Liulama – named Honorable Mentions.

Sasha Mareko made the West’s First Team from Kapolei, which finished 9-3 overall. The Hurricanes won nine of their first 10 games before back-to-back losses to Farrington and Aiea eliminated them from the mix for a state tournament berth. Kaitlyn Lanier was chosen a Second Team All-Star from Kapolei, while team-mates Jayleen Abregana, Savanah Baldomero, Kaile Tuisamatate, Annika San Nicholas and Bray Hitzeman received Honorable Mention.

Shea Sullivan was a First Team All-Star pick from Campbell, which finished 3-7 this fall. Teammates Cloey Ganacial and Heaven Maiava earned Honorable Mentions.

Pearl City’s Kara Aiwohi was chosen to the Second Team. The Chargers finished 5-6 in head coach Bryan Camello’s debut with the program. Lexxie Enos, Johnai Kapua, Britani Pascua, Starr Payton and Whitney Carter earned Honorable Mention.

In Division II, Waipahu had six players earn Honorable Mentions: Kuinita Donley, Lesly Martin, Grace Moli Wilson, Katelyn Onaga, Mariecari Baliscao and Malaeotanifa Tagovailoa-Gaopao.