Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

Sabers Softball Takes Title, Hermosura Year’s Top Coach

Campbell’s Elisa Favela has been named the OIA Division I West Player of the Year.

A junior pitcher, Favela was a huge factor in the Sabers going 17-2 overall and 11-1 in the West this spring. The Sabers captured the DI state softball championships May 15, defeating Mililani 16-4 in the title game.

For her part, Favela was a force in every way for Campbell, going 12-2 (with one save) on the mound with an ERA of 2.17. On the offensive side, she batted .391 with five home runs.

In addition to Favela, the Sabers also boasted First Team All-Stars in junior second baseman Cydney Curran, junior shortstop Chardonnay Pantastico, and senior outfielders Nashlynn Anguay and Ashlyn Yagin.

Senior catcher Kiana Ulufale and sophomore utility player Sierra Mariano made the Second Team from Campbell. Saber teammates Danielle Cervantes, Darien Robinson and Nikki Corla were Honorable Mentions.

Campbell’s Michael Hermosura also was named Coach of the Year by his peers.

Juniors Hope Casarez (catcher) and Kristin Frost (utility player) made the First Team from Pearl City, which went 13-6 overall and 9-3 in the West.

The Chargers finished fourth in the OIA and went on to win the consolation final of the DI state championships.

Pearl City pitcher Tyanna Kaaialii and first baseman Natalie Kang were selected for the Second Team, while teammates Cheyne Obara, Taylor Shigeta, Noel Saunders, Kylie Tasaki, Taylyn Kimura and Darian Obara received Honorable Mention.

Junior third baseman Laugatasala Pedebone made the First Team from Kapolei, while teammate Kayla Higa was a Second Team All-Star selection as an outfielder. The Hurricanes finished 11-9 overall (5-7 in the West) this spring.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Kapolei were Sadie Kapaku-You, Tayzha Meyers, Dallas Pollard-Brownell, Prestyne Kaimi-Montira and Shaycelynn Hoohuli.

Waipahu placed seven players on the Honorable Mention team, including Shevan DeFreitas, Makayla Whitley, Rayna Agbunag, Salavao Veu, Alyssa Lene, Shandell Palencia and Ulalia Soa.

In DII, Aiea had three players make the First Team — catcher Kailie Alama, pitcher Poamai Tuli and first baseman Vesi Liilii.

Aiea finished 13-3 overall this season and 9-3 in league play. Na Ali‘i entered the OIA DII tournament as the second seed from the West, but outlasted top-seeded (and three-time defending state champ) Nanakuli, 10-8 in extra innings, to win the title May 8. Aiea continued its winning streak into the DII state tournament, eventually finishing as runner-up to the same Nanakuli team they had beaten seven days earlier in the OIA finale.

Aiea’s loss at the state title game ended a 10-game win streak. Second baseman Chantel Shimabukuro and shortstop Kayla Higuchi were both Second Team picks from Aiea, while Tess Tavale and Riley Tagawa received Honorable Mention.