Sabers Just Miss State Title, But Boast Five All-Stars

The Campbell girls softball team was always on the offensive this spring, tallying an OIA Red West-best 121 runs en route to a 15-5 finish. The high-powered attack didn’t go unnoticed by their foes, as five Sabers were chosen as either First or Second Team All-Stars in a recent vote of league coaches.

Earning First Team honors from Campbell were sophomore second baseman Cydney Curran, senior third baseman Kawehi Kahana and junior outfielder Nashlynn Anguay. Sophomore pitcher Elisa Favela and junior outfielder Ashlyn Yagin made the Second Team.

Additionally, teammates Kiana Ulufale, Caragh Morris and Chardonay Pantastico earned Honorable Mention.

The Sabers’ 2014 season culminated with an impressive run at the Division I state softball championships. On the heels of a third-place finish at the OIA Red post-season tourney, Campbell reeled off wins over Lahainaluna (5-4), Kamehameha-Kapalama (5-0) and Leilehua (10-0) to advance to the state title game. The Sabers lost a heartbreaker, 2-1, to Red West rival Mililani in the championship game.

* Pearl City was also among the teams to make the state tournament field from the OIA this spring, finishing 7-11 overall. Losses to Maryknoll and Moanalua ended its bid for a state title. Senior catcher Robi Kami and sophomore utility player Kristin Frost were both named First Team All-Stars.

* Senior outfielder Stacia-Al Mahoe was selected for the First Team from Kapolei, which finished its season at 7-8.

Hurricane teammate Kamryn Kanae made the Second Team as an outfielder, while Sala Pedebone, Shaycelynn Hoohuli, Tayzha Meyers, Courtney Belford, Sadie Kapaku and Amayha Dycus earned Honorable Mentions.

* In Division II, Aiea had a trio of players named to the OIA White’s First Team in junior catcher Kailie Alama, freshman second baseman Chantelle Shimabukuro and senior outfielder Tiana Pantil.

Na Ali’i also had three players named Second Team All-Stars: senior pitcher Raisa Strom-Okimoto, junior shortstop Kayla Higuchi and sophomore utility player Tiiara Shibata.

Earning Honorable Mention were Tessie Tavale, Riley Tagawa, Kendra Kakazu, Kyle Johnson, Rayna Higuchi, Kaylie Matsunami, Rerlyn Ildefonso and Marie Patacsil.

Aiea won 13 of its first 14 games and finished 15-4 overall. Na Ali’i also finished as OIA Division II runner-up, dropping the title game to conference rival Nanakuli, 10-5. At the Division II state softball championships, Aiea defeated both Lanai (16-2) and Kamehameha-Hawaii (10-5) to make the semifinal round.

Losses to Waimea (7-2) and Saint Francis (7-1) followed, giving Na Ali’i a fourth-place finish at states.