Saber Girls’ 2014 Season A Turning Point For Soccer Team

The Campbell girls soccer team broke new ground this winter, delivering the school its first Division I OIA title in its long history.

The afterglow continued when the league recently revealed its All-Star picks from the season, as Campbell landed four players on either the West’s First or Second Team.

Earning First Team honors were junior midfielder Aliani Lorenzo and sophomore defender Chardonnay Curran, while seniors Aryana Cabudol and Brittney Ann Copp made the Second Team as defender and goalkeeper, respectively.

OIA’s All-Star teams are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

Campbell went 13-3-1 overall, and 7-2-1 in the West season to finish in second place with Pearl City (behind Mililani). As the No. 3 West seed for the OIA Red tournament, the Sabers had to go the long, hard route to win the title, playing four games in six days, but they responded with wins over Kailua 1-0, Kaiser 4-3, Mililani 2-1 and Moanalua 2-1.

The team continued its upward mobility at the DI state tournament, defeating Pearl City 3-2 in the quarterfinals to come within a game of playing for the title.

A 2-1 loss to Iolani in the semifinals ended the run, but the girls bounced back to win the third-place game 2-0 over Konawaena.

Campbell’s Lauryn Cabudol, Kiley Haraguchi and Kylie Rae Sabino earned Honorable Mentions.

• Pearl City had six players make either the West’s First or Second Team, second only to champion Mililani, which had seven. Attacker Daelenn Tokunaga and defender Jordan Gomes both made the First Team, while attacker Nikki Suwa, mid-fielders Bethany Nazareno and Randi Fontes, and defender Kylie Louis earned Second Team honors.

Tokunaga and Fontes each scored 13 goals apiece, ranking them ninth in scoring in the OIA.

Pearl City’s Sydney Young earned Honorable Mention.

• Aiea placed two players on the West’s First Team: attacker Sara Olanda and defender Jordan Hill.

Na Ali‘i went 7-1-2 in the West. Losses to Moanalua and Pearl City in the OIA tournament ended their bid for a state tournament berth. Earning Honorable Mentions from Aiea were Keani Napuunoa, Tiana Ono, Brittny Maze and Tamara Mikamura.

• Kapolei had a pair of First Team picks in mid-fielder Bianca Gonzales and defender Shandy Hopeau. Both are seniors. The Hurricanes, who went 6-6 overall this winter, also saw Kayla Alcott and Kelsea Akau earn Honorable Mentions.

• Waipahu, which competed in Division II during the postseason, landed attacker Jessica Gonzales and midfielder Alysha Somers on the West’s Second Team.

The Marauders earned the top seed from the West for the OIA DII tournament, but were upset by Waialua 3-0 in the semifinals. Waipahu rebounded to defeat Nanakuli 2-0 in the third-place game to earn one of the league’s berths for the DII state tournament.

Waipahu went 1-2 at states, finishing as Consolation Round runner-up to Nanakuli.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Waipahu were Dezyria Martin, Karlee Manding and Summer Akau-Mika.