Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

Red Raiders’ Football Prowess Yields Hall Of Honor Stars

Kahuku standouts Aofaga Wily and Kawe Johnson have been named to the 2013 Hawaii High School Athletic Association Hall of Honor class, it was revealed recently.

Both are among the leaders for a Kahuku football team that went undefeated at 12-0 and captured a second consecutive Division I state football title last November. The team also won a second straight OIA championship. The 2013 class includes 12 student-athletes in all.

Wily is one of three Red Raiders to sign a letter of intent with University of Hawaii in February on national signing day, joining linebacker Rashaan Falemalu and offensive lineman John Wa’a. He rated as the No. 6 recruit in the state by ESPN.com after rushing for a state-best 1,744 rushing yards and 27 touchdowns last fall.

He had 188 rushing yards and three touchdowns in the state title game, a win over Punahou, and added 141 yards and four scores in a semifinal win over Farrington. Wily finished his career with 4,205 rushing yards, the second most in Hawaii high school football history, and surpassed Mark Atuaia as Kahuku’s career rushing leader. He also competed in the Senior Bowl and the Polynesian All-America Bowl in La Mirada, Calif.

Johnson leaves Kahuku as one of the most decorated three-sport athletes in school history, having excelled in football, basketball and track. He was a four-year starter for the football team. As a senior, Johnson recorded eight interceptions and had 35 tackles en route to being named Red East Defensive Player of the Year.

He was All-Conference on both sides of the ball in junior and senior seasons. Johnson will attend New Mexico State on a football scholarship.

The 2013 HHSAA Hall of Honor class was selected by a 14-person committee of current and former sports reporters, athletic directors and coaches from around the state after two days of meetings. The criteria are based mainly on athletic achievement, but character, sportsmanship, academic record and community service also are taken into consideration. Each inductee also will receive a $2,000 scholarship, courtesy of Enterprise Rent-A-Car. The student-athletes will be formally inducted at an HHSAA Awards Banquet at 5 p.m. June 9 at the Sheraton Waikiki. For ticket information, call 587-4495.

The Hall of Honor program has been recognizing the top 12 Hawaii senior student-athletes each year since 1983.

Kalaheo Volleyball Places Four on OIA All-Star Teams

The afterglow of another solid season for Kalaheo on the volleyball court continued last week when the OIA released its All-Conference teams. The Mustangs, who went 15-3 overall this spring (12-0 in the OIA East), boasted a pair of First Team selections in Luke Owens and Silila Tucker, while teammates Josh Ko and Sam Orcutt were named to the Second Team. (OIA All-Conference teams are chosen in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.) Kalaheo’s Ed Chun was named Coach of the Year by his peers.

Alexander Weeks made the First Team from Castle, which finished 5-6 on the year. The Knights also placed Nui Furtado, Kepa Santos, SinJin Cornette, Ikaika Kekoanui and Liva Sale as Honorable Mentions.

Kailua had six players – Kekoa Ford, Martin Tigilau, Trevor Pelesasa-Sefo, Dayson Davids, Caleb Valero and Seth Thomas – with Honorable Mentions.

Earning Honorable Mention from Kahuku were Noel Thorp, Ala Tito, Micha TanuvasaMaiava, Rashaan Falemalu, Quayd Ah You and Jonathan Yu.