Red Raider Team Dominates In OIA Girls Soccer Awards

The ability to finish on scoring plays helped solidify Kahuku attacker Renee Oei’s place among the state’s best during the recently completed girls prep soccer season. A senior, Oei tallied a team-high 11 goals in 10 games during the OIA East season. Her efforts didn’t go unnoticed by East coaches, who voted her a First Team All Star recently.

Oei was one of the catalysts for a Kahuku team that went 9-5-3 overall (5-2-3 in league games) en route to an appearance in the Division I girls state soccer tournament.

The Red Raiders posted huge wins at the OIA tournament over West powers Campbell (1-0), Kapolei (1-0) and Waianae (4-0) to earn one of the league’s berths for the state tourney. A loss to eventual OIA tournament champ Mililani in the quarterfinals was Kahuku’s lone setback during the event.

Oei continued her productivity at states, scoring twice in Kahuku’s 2-0 opening round win over Kealakehe, but losses to Mililani and KamehamehaMaui the next two days officially ended the team’s season.

Mid-fielder Pikake Hix and defender Janice Pouha both were named to the Second Team from Kahuku. Pouha’s free kick from 30 yards out made the difference in Kahuku’s win over Campbell in the OIA first-round playoff in double-overtime Jan. 13.

The Red Raiders also placed Maila Aluli, Moani Hurlbutt, Kayla Taulapapa and Carrie Kamakaala as Honorable Mentions.

Castle Knights defender Kayla Silva-Gage also was chosen to the First Team after leading the Knights to a 7-5-1 overall record (they were 6-3-1 in the East). Teammate Faith Roth made the Second Team as a mid-fielder, while Vanessa Chinen, Jaylie Miyamoto, Macie Akai, Mikayla Harada and Haunani Soares-Haae made Honorable Mention.

Lily Berry Liftee made the First Team for Kailua as a defender. The Surfriders finished 5-5-1 in the East. Kailua also had six players – Janell Alameida, Natalia Valero, Marissa Yoshida, Zsanrei Konohia, Hannah Galveso and Kyla Cantillo – selected Honorable Mentions.

In Division II, Kiana Forsythe made the First Team as an attacker for Kalaheo, which earned one of the OIA’s three berths for the DII state tournament. Receiving Honorable Mention from Kalaheo were Kamele Kahanu, Jhadyne Felipe and Kiana Bowman.

Kaiser’s Courtney Okazaki was named East Player of the Year, while Adolph Samuels of the Cougars was selected as Coach of the Year.