OIA Honors Best Girls Volleyball Players

Kahuku outside hitter Adora Anae has been named OIA East Player of the Year, the league announced recently. A senior, Anae was one of the catalysts for a Red Raider team that went 16-3 overall this fall, including a third-place finish in the OIA tournament. Kahuku went on to finish fifth in the Division I state tournament.

“She’s definitely Division I-caliber (at the college level),” Aiea head coach Kory Toyozaki said of Anae. “She has that volleyball intelligence. She always was able to pick her team up when they needed her to.”

The Red Raiders enjoyed a 13-game win streak at one point during the season en route to capturing the OIA East season crown. Tehani Fiatoa was named East’s Coach of the Year by her peers.

Anae’s teammates Sinamoni Tonga (outside hitter) and Rachel Blake (setter/defensive specialist) also made the First Team. Talia Brown, who played both setter and outside hitter, was named to the East’s Second Team, and Honorable Mentions went to Brittany Waite, Mariah Kamakeeaina and Olivia Wallace.

Castle High senior Quaira Puaauli-Puahi was named to the First Team as a middle blocker/outside hitter. She helped lead the Knights to an 8-6 overall record.

Teammate Rachel Lafitaga was chosen for the Second Team as a defensive specialist. Kaela Tilton, Keisha Ganigan-Preston, Sheastel Timalu, Shaney Tiamalu, Trystin Ramos, Joelle Brighter, Teila Kapihe and Kayla Akiona all received Honorable Mentions.

Kailua had a trio of players earn Honorable Mention in Keala Kaio-Perez, Shaeanijanee Naihe and Georgienne Murray.

In Division II, Kalaheo finished as OIA White (Division II) runner-up to Radford en route to an appearance in the DII state tournament. The Mustangs won seven of eight matches down the stretch to qualify for states, and eight players – Alex Jacobsen, Bobbi Anduha, Leslie Sanchez, Riley Lynch, Siani Yamaguchi, Skye Parker, Syenna Masaki and Tati Schenk-Lee – earned Honorable Mentions for the East.

Le Jardin head coach Ed Chun was named the co-Coach of the Year in the ILH along with La Pietra’s Alicia Arnott. Chun led the Bulldogs to an 8-9 mark in the ILH’s Division II league. Le Jardin freshman Nina Krupa was named an ILH First Team All-Star. Jasmine Baginski, Taylor Souza, Sophia Spengler and Kassidy Naone earned Honorable Mentions.