Na Ali‘i’s Okubo, Iwabuchi Earn Top 2015 Judo Honors

Aiea’s Kari Okubo has been named OIA West Player of the Year for judo, the league announced recently.

Okubo was individual champion in the 154-pound weight class this spring and followed up that feat by winning a second consecutive individual title at the state judo championships in the days that followed.

She was joined on the West’s First Team by teammate Sarah Miner, who also brought home an individual title in the 220- pound class.

Gezlen Ragudos, who was OIA champ in the 139-pound class, made the Second Team from Aiea.

The OIA’s All-Conference teams are chosen in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

Aiea’s Dustin Iwabuchi was named West Coach of the Year by his peers.

Pearl City led the way with a league-high five First Team picks, including Mana Borden (172, first in weight class), Adrienne Nazareno (98), Louise Pekelo (103, second), Mikayla Abe (109, second) and Kayelah Arakaki (139, second).

Joen Tominaga (115), Shana Inouye (122), Grace Boa (129) and Michelle Tanuvasa (220) made the Second Team from Pearl City.

Campbell had a pair of Second Team selections in Anne Platt (109) and Kayla Mae Cuizon (172).

Kapolei’s Tiana Peterson made the Second Team in the 154-pound weight class.

In boys judo, Kapolei’s Jayson Pagurayan was chosen as West Player of the Year.

Pagurayan was the individual state champion in the 108-pound weight class.

Joining Pagurayan on West’s First Team were brother Andrew Pagurayan (114, first), Anthony Brett (121, first) Kaulana Narciso (132, second) and Rodman Salangdron (145, first).

Kapolei also placed four players on the West’s Second Team, including Aaron Nakama (121), Kekua Marumoto (161, first), Moses Bell (220) and Jonathan Kansana (285).

Marumoto, Narciso and the Pagurayan brothers followed up their performances at the OIA finals by capturing individual state titles May 8, helping the Hurricanes to a second consecutive state team title.

Kapolei’s Marc Narciso was chosen West Coach of the Year.

Aiea has a pair of First Team selections in Harley Oshiro (178) and Matt Miner (285).

Maui Lee (198, first) and Jackson Fuamatu (220, second) made the First Team from Pearl City, while Chargers teammates Diamond Edwards (132) and Matthew Keopuhiwa (198) were Second Team selections.

Fuamatu went on to win at the HHSAA state finals, ensuring him an individual title in both wrestling and judo this year.

Cole Kido (145) made the Second Team from Campbell High School.