Mililani Boys Soccer Stars Dominate All-West Conference

Over the past decade, when it comes to the OIA boys soccer tournament, Mililani can practically sign its own figure to the conference checkbook.

With its latest OIA title last month, the team now has won five of the last six Division I titles since the league split into two divisions. Mililani also had won seven of the previous nine overall OIA titles between 1999 and 2007 under head coach Jeff Yamamoto prior to the separation into divisions.

The Trojans dominance didn’t go unnoticed when the OIA coaches gathered to vote on the West’s All-Conference teams.

Mililani, which finished 12-2-1 overall, had four players chosen as First Team All Stars, including attacker Ryan Carlomany, mid-fielder Matt Fronda, defender Jeremy Laguana and Player of the Year mid-fielder Elan Yogi.

Carlomany tallied nine goals during the season to tie teammate Preston Derige for tops on the team. In 10 regular-season games, Mililani outscored its opponents 48-2. Mililani entered the Division I state tournament on a 10-game win streak before losses to Kalani and Iolani ended its title bid.

Defenders Zach Carvalho and Royce Yamane both were picked for the Second Team from Mililani, while teammates Scott Inouye, Tyler Braunthal, Liam Neill, Chris Galang and Robin Potts were Honorable Mentions.

In Division II, Leilehua had six players earn Honorable Mention, including Jean-Marcos Garcia, Jarrett Pascual, Brennon Jacinto, Aaron Calabrese, Kyle Sego and Kelii Makue.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Waialua were Kebi Dellatan, Christian Paracuellas, Elmer Agtina, Thomas Pule, Caelan Alejandro, Jannarong Truatnoy and Kyle Iona.

The Mililani girls soccer team also had another banner year, going 13-2-1 and winning its 14th overall OIA title. The Trojan girls also made the semifinals of the Division I state tournament before finishing fourth. Mililani had six players – Brittney Gideon, Kailana Kaeo, TJ Reyno, Alisha Miyashiro, Madison Reed and Shyani Terukina – make the West’s First Team, while Ray Akiona was selected Coach of the Year by his peers. Mid-fielders Brooke Yoshimura and Mia Crail-Yusif, and defenders Tarryn Miyamura and Taylor Yoshiura made the Second Team from Mililani, while Tasalina Leoso earned Honorable Mention.

Elizabeth Dumlao, Lauren Nelson, Amanda Fernandez and Jessica Misajon were named Honorable Mention from Leilehua, which made the Division II state tournament.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Waialua were Ashley NakoaKawahakui, Olivia Prindle, Terina Lacar, Amber Alejandro, Emma Knott and Nicole Verdadero.