Mililani Athlete Named West Volleyball Player Of The Year

Mililani’s Jordyn Keamo has been named Oahu Interscholastic Association West Girls’ Volleyball Player of the Year, the league announced recently. A junior, Keamo was one of the catalysts this fall for the Trojans, leading the team to a 15-4 overall record.

Mililani won its first 12 matches in 2012 and went 13-2 overall versus OIA competition. Coached by Val Crabbe, the Trojans advanced to the championship round of the OIA post-season tournament before losing to Kahuku of the East Conference in the finals. Mililani rebounded to win its first two games at the Division I state volleyball tournament before ultimately succumbing to eventual state champ Punahou and Kahuku in the semifinals and third-place game, respectively.

Seniors Inoa Fields and Casie Gaza also were chosen as First Team All-Stars in the West. (OIA All-Star teams are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.)

For the pair, this season was a fine finale, as both also were key contributors as juniors in 2011 when the team took the OIA title as well as finishing third at the DI state tournament. The Trojans had five players – Jayierra Kapowai, Samantha Fisher, Shaylin Sueda, Emily Craig and Kori Yamasaki – earn Honorable Mention.

Peka Kalulu-Sugai was chosen as a First Team All-Star from Waialua. She was the only player from a Division II program to earn First Team honors in the West, whose All-Star Team was dominated by Division I players.

The Bulldogs finished 2-9 on the year. Lani Maluyo, Joelle Haime, Irina Delatorre, Kim Haime, Kiara Kamakea, Amber Alejandro and Kamryn Lendio were Honorable Mention from Waialua.

Kayla Kilaulani was chosen to the Second Team from Leilehua, which finished its OIA season at 6-5 to earn the fourth seed out of the West for the conference post-season tournament. Wins over West foes Kapolei and traditional power Aiea highlighted the season. The Mules’ bid for a state tournament berth was turned away by Kaiser, which defeated Leilehua in an OIA first round matchup. Receiving Honorable Mention from Leilehua were Elizabeth Dumlao, Alexis Fetui, Malia Kekahuna, Talea Alailima and Aeshalani Palomares.

Hanalani, which finished its ILH season at 7-9 in Division II, was led by Sarah Liva, who was picked as a First Team All-Star by the league. Hanalani also placed Kanani Auwae and Taylor Mendiola on the ILH Second Team, while teammate Brianna Fernandez earned Honorable Mention.