Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

Leilehua Water Polo Player Named Player Of The Year

Aundrea Vidal definitely had a spring to remember, tallying a state-best 71 goals for the Leilehua girls water polo team. Her exploits didn’t go unnoticed by opposing coaches, who recently voted her OIA Girls Water Polo Player of the Year.

A senior, Vidal was a scoring machine, posting at least one goal per game and three or more in all but three contests. Her season-high of 10 was recorded in a 14-7 win over Pearl City March 14. She tallied nine in a 9-6 win over Kamehameha-Maui at the state tournament May 4.

“Her acumen for the game is excellent,” said Kapolei head coach Dex Lee, who was the West Division’s Coach of the Year. “Combined with her speed, it makes for a great combination. She really understands the team concept. A lot of her goals were clean-up goals, where she was in the right position so she knows where to go.

“She’s a great all-around player,” he added. “She plays great defense and always guards the other team’s best player.”

Leilehua finished 8-9 on the season. In addition to Vidal making the First Team, Mule teammates Uilani Freitas, Brianna Kirk and Marisa Stadtmueller earned Honorable Mention.

Erin Lee was named to the First Team from Mililani, which finished 12-6. Teammate Cassie Kawamata was chosen for the Second Team, while Dru Daley and Kaylie Miyashita received Honorable Mention.

West Division Softball All-Stars named from Leilehua, Mililani

Longtime Mililani coach Rose Antonio was selected as OIA West Division Coach of the Year by her peers after leading the Trojans to a 13-5 mark. (Her team finished 9-3 in the West and took fifth at the OIA Tournament.) Mililani went on to finish as Consolation Champion at the Division I state softball tournament.

The Trojans boasted four First Team selections, including Chesarey Silva (first base), Justine Fabella (outfield), Kacey Oshiro (outfield) and Joen Baker (utility). Although Silva is a senior who has completed her eligibility, Fabella and Oshiro are only sophomores, and Baker is a junior. Mililani also had a pair of Second Team picks in senior pitcher Alysia Maddison and sophomore shortstop Jade YadaoValdez, while Tori-Ann Baysa, Mari Kajiwara, Ariel Beaudoin and Karly Macadangdang received Honorable Mention.

Jazzmyn Dangaran was named to the First Team from Leilehua, which finished its season 7-8 overall. Teammate Chenoa Au, a sophomore second baseman, was chosen for the Second Team from the Mules. Receiving Honorable Mention were Maegan Tupinio and Krysten Kubo.