Leilehua, Mililani Girls Dominate All-conference Hoops Honors

On the hardwood, the Leilehua and Mililani girls basketball teams dominated the competition throughout much of the season. Both teams also dominated the OIA All-Conference lists, which were recently announced by the league.

Indeed, all five of the OIA West’s First Team All-Conference slots went to either a Mule or a Trojan. (Selections are made in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.)

Mililani senior Nayla Long led the way as the West’s Player of the Year. Long averaged 14.6 points per game for the Trojans, who finished 13-3 overall en route to another appearance at the Division I state tournament.

Mililani’s only losses came to Leilehua in the OIA title game and to both Konawaena and Lahainaluna at the state tournament.

Seniors Kira Arruda (12.3 points per game) and Kapili Amamalin (10.6) also were named to the First Team from Mililani. The team also had Kaylee Torres and Mikaela Limper named Honorable Mentions, while Patrick Basilio was voted Coach of the Year.

Leilehua, which won its first-ever OIA title in girls basketball, had a pair of First Team selections in junior Tiffany Reyher (9.1 points per game) and senior Elyshia Bowden (12.2). Carissa McBride and Jerri Maluyo were named to the Second Team from Leilehua, which finished 14-2 overall.

The Mules won 12 straight games at one point en route to the OIA title and went on to finish fifth at the DI state tournament. The Mules also had Honorable Mentions in Briana Crawley, Krizzle Calip and Twyanna Abbott.

Waialua also returned to the court this winter after not fielding a girls basketball team last season. Kamryn Lendio and Raydeen Kobayashi-Kajiwara were Honorable Mention from the Bulldogs.

In boys basketball, Leilehua senior Troy Ross was a First Team pick. He averaged 12.1 points in OIA games for the Mules, who finished at 6-5. Pomai Cozo, Torenzo Vereen, Carlan Hayes and Dyllan Amond were named Honorable Mentions.

Mililani’s Elijah Gambol was named to the Second Team. Only a junior, he averaged 8.4 points per game this season for the Trojans, who went 11-6 overall en route to an appearance at the DI state tournament. Receiving Honorable Mention were teammates Chedan Pascual, Ian Namu, Sylvester Panoncillo, Peter Bueno, Noel Bueno and Jason Calabrese.

Waialua junior Xavier Repollo was selected to the Second Team after averaging 15.1 points per game. Repollo reached double figures in scoring in all but one game. Bryan Jay Pascua, Keevin Cuadro, Lance Manalo and Richard Pascua all received Honorable Mention.