Lady Red Raiders Continue Their OIA Reign In Water Polo

Kahuku’s Kahaulelio twins — Kahea and Nohea — have been selected as the OIA girls water polo Co-Players of the Year, the league revealed recently.

As seniors this year, the twins were a big reason why the Red Raiders dominated the season, winning their sixth straight OIA title and their 13th in the last 14 years.

Kahea produced a team-high 30 goals for Kahuku (including state tournament games), while Nohea tallied 24 of her own. Behind their lead, the team went 15-1 overall this spring and 13-0 in the OIA.

Joining the Kahaulelios on the First Team was fellow senior Lilli Lindgard, who finished with 22 goals for the season.

The Red Raiders also saw India Pyzel, Auri Kunz, Kahea Pirrone and Noa Cravens earn Honorable Mentions.

OIA’s All-Star teams are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

Kahuku took third at the girls water polo state championships.

Kailua had a trio of players earn Honorable Mentions in Kamalei Delima-Richardson, Lexxi Mellor and Kainani Peters.

OIA Softball All-Star Teams Announced

Windward teams were well-represented once again when the OIA released its list of Division I softball All-Star teams for 2015 recently, as Castle and Kailua combined to fill nine spots on either the East’s First or Second Teams.

Kailua placed first baseman Moanai Kupahu and utility player Delcie Williams on the First Team, while second baseman Harley Texeira, shortstop Robi Lono and outfielder Akamulei Makua were named to the Second Team. The Surfriders also saw Tiani Lastimosa, Dyani Cummings-Lani and Desiree Chang earn East Honorable Mentions. The Surfriders finished 8-4 this spring in the East.

Castle, which went 7-5 in the East, had a pair of players named to the First Team in second baseman Darrien Dacosin and Paige Matsuki.

The Knights’ Jon Berin-obis also was named East Coach of the Year by his peers. Castle finished its regular season strong, winning four of its last five games.

Outfielder Shea Kealo-ha-Kauanui and utility player Asia Igafo both made the Second Team from Castle.

In DII, Kalaheo outfielder Ruth Ilab and pitcher Jacquelyne Howard both made the OIA’s Second Team. The Mustangs’ Michelle Sasaki and Tyler Meredith received Honorable Mentions.

The Mustangs, who finished 8-4 in their regular season, went on to take fourth in the OIA DII tournament to earn one of the league’s berths for the DII state softball championship.

Kahuku’s Joycelyn Alo made the Second Team as a third baseman. The Red Raiders finished 3-7 this spring in DII.