League Honors Windward’s Best In High School Baseball

Kailua High senior shortstop Kila Zuttermeister has been named OIA Red East Player of the Year, the league announced recently.

A senior, Zuttermeister’s steady play in the infield was one of the reasons why the team enjoyed another stellar spring, going 16-2 overall. Zuttermeister also batted .435 for Kailua, which won 11 straight games at one point.

Longtime Kalani coach Shannon Hirai can be counted among those happy to see Zuttermeister moving on, after having faced him many times in the past three years.

“More than anything else, his leadership on the field sparks them,” said Hirai. “Defensively, he killed us. In the second game we played against them, he made a diving catch on a line drive that saved a couple runs. I don’t think he ever committed an error against us. He also hit the ball hard against us, but we were there (in position to make the play).”

Additionally, Kailua teammates Kaipo OamildaScholtz (first base), Eli Davidann (outfielder) and Kea Vierra (utility) were chosen for the First Team. Third baseman Kahaku Iaea made the Second Team, while the Surfriders also saw Rusty Choy Foo, Tyler Takata, Jacob Cobb-Adams, Keola Himan, Wyatt D’Alessio, Corey Louis-Soares, Bobby Spencer and Bryce Ah Sam earn Honorable Mentions.

Kailua’s Corey Ishigo was named East Division Coach of the Year.

* Castle High had three players – Eric Akamine (third base), Chaz Kobayashi (second base) and Dustin Nakayama (pitcher) – named to the First Team. The Knights were among the most improved teams in the state this spring, going 12-8 under first-year head coach Rocky Fraticelli. The Knights won just one game in 2011.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Castle were Manoah Medrano, Froy Smith, Micah Camara, Zephan Mukai and Christian Kapeliela.

* From the Kahuku High dugout, seniors Justin Van Ness, Evan Ramirez and Graygochea Nagy earned Honorable Mention.

* In Division II, Geoffrey Craighead was selected as a First Team catcher for Kalaheo. A sophomore, Craighead hit .313 for the Mustangs, who finished 9-5 overall this spring under coach Stephen Lee. The Mustangs took first in the OIA White East Division and earned a berth in the DII state baseball tournament. Kalaheo also had four players selected to the White’s Second Team, including Joe Whiting (first base), Bryan Silva (second base), Alika Andres (shortstop) and Matthew Lee (out-fielder).