Kapolei Girls Volleyball Team Has Good Championship Run

Kapolei girls volleyball team had a post-season to remember with riveting runs in both the Oahu Interscholastic Association Red Conference Tournament and New City Nissan Division I State Tournament.

Every step of the way, sophomore outside hitter Jayleen Abregana figured big for the Hurricanes. Her efforts did not go unnoticed by OIA West coaches, who recently voted her a First Team All-Star.

Kapolei finished 13-5 overall in 2014, including an 8-2 mark in OIA West’s regular season. The Hurricanes earned the No. 3 seed out of the West for the OIA Tournament, and quickly asserted themselves with three straight wins versus Kaiser, Kahuku and Mililani to make the championship game.

Abregana’s performance in the OIA semifinal win over Mililani was among her best, as she posted 13 kills and nine digs in a 25-23, 25-22, 25-19 win. Kapolei was defeated by Moanalua in the OIA

Championship Game before going on to finish fourth at the State Tournament.

Kapolei also had seven players earn Honorable Mention honors: Kaile Tuisamatatele, Shekinah Clarke, Shayze Wessel, Seleni Bartley, Savannah Baldomero, Annika San Nicholas and Malia Transfiguracion.

Aiea had a pair of First Team All-Star selections in outside hitter Vevesi Liilii and libero Lole Kalama-Liulama. Na Ali‘i finished 8-5 overall this fall, including a 7-3 mark in OIA West.

Middle blocker Leleo Maeva was named to the Second Team from Aiea, while teammates Marissah Martinez, Leslie Mamai, Christine Betham and Kamalani Cachola earned Honorable Mention.

Jeseniah Futu was named to the Second Team from Campbell as an outside hitter. The Sabers finished 3-8 overall this season. Receiving Honorable Mention from Campbell were Terra Leano, Sala Timoteo and Jenavee Tago-Sue.

Pearl City outside hitter Maycee Kealoha was named to the Second Team. The Chargers finished 3-7 this fall. An upset win over Mililani, which went on to become the top seed from the West in the OIA Tournament, highlighted Pearl City’s season. The Chargers also had six players earn Honorable Mention: Cobbie Kabayashi, Tasha Keaunui, Tiffany Okinaka, Lien Howard, Lexxie Enos and McKayla Apo.

Earning Honorable Mention from Waipahu (1-9) were Pearl Tinaza, Rasela Pagofie, Leslie Pedro, Leutu Aiumu, Ituau J. Tali, Sabrina Hollins, Jolynn Mariko and Koleen Daenos.

In the Interscholastic League of Honolulu, Island Pacific Academy junior Jaycinth Hitzeman was selected as Division III Most Valuable Player. Teammate Shaina Duran made the First Team from IPA, while teammate Katie Gordon received Honorable Mention. The Navigators finished 12-1 this fall en route to winning the ILH DIII Title. IPA’s Stan Vincent was chosen Coach of the Year by his peers.