Kalani Quarterback Brum Shines In OIA Post-season Honors

Among the catalysts in Kalani’s break-through 2013 season was quarterback Noah Brum, who helped lead an offense that averaged 39 points per game. His efforts recently were recognized when OIA White coaches named him Offensive Player of the Year.

Brum threw for 2,797 yards and 38 touchdowns, with nine interceptions.

Kalani’s six-win total (6-2 in OIA White) under head coach Greg Taguchi represented the program’s best finish in decades. The Falcons’ only two league losses came to Radford and DII state champion Kaiser.

In addition to Brum, Kalani also placed wide receiver Trevor Yamashita and lineman Jonah Magnenat on White’s First Team Offense. Wide receiver Brandon Roberts made the Second Team Offensive list.

Defensively, Kalani also had a trio of First Team selections in lineman Ezekiel Taylor, linebacker Shane Ra and defensive back Preston Dudoit.

Honorable Mentions included Goro Iijima, Ikona Mamiya, Jason Tran, Enrique Grover, Lawrence Medeiros, Blaise Manabe, Stephan Bernal-Wendt, Dylan Takaki, Tino Faumui, Blaise Yamauchi, David Faletoi, Ace Faumui, Akio Abdul-Adal and Marc Teshima.

Kaiser had just three players named to the White’s First and Second teams despite an incredible run to the DII state championship. In 2012, the Cougars were only a handful of plays away from a similar triumph when Nanakuli edged them out 28-21 in the OIA DII semifinals in late October. The team regrouped from that to post a riveting run this fall under second-year coach Rich Miano, winning 13 straight games, often in dominating fashion. Indeed, Kaiser won its games by an average score of 38-8.

Kaiser lineman Manase Palu was named to the First Team Defense, and team-mate Tommy Fisher made the Second Team as a line-backer. Running back Thomas Buttenbah-Leong earned Second Team Offensive All-Star status.

Cougars Kahoalii Karratti, Kahe Neves, Fitou Fisiahi, Curt Clivio, Justin Ikei, Jonah Saio, Michael Eletise, John Wendall Nisa, Michael Takeifanga, Joshua Prokraka, Zeno Choi, Derek Costa, Mikey Sua, Parker Higgins, Isaac Slade-Matautia, Melvin Kahunanui, Makaio Hopeau-Lampitoc, Keenan Arroyo and Jeshua Bitanga all received Honorable Mention.

Anuenue’s White Second Team All-Stars included linemen Kimo Moses and Kaleo Lindsey on offense and Lino Kauaula on defense as a lineman.

Kainoa Kelii-Nahaku, Kekoa Lima, Naali’i Dureg, Kimo Moses, Kaleookalani Gaspar, Kawa’a Kahana-Reid, Pineki Silva and Kaimalino Bobiles earned Honorable Mention from Anuenue.

In Division I, Kaimuki lineman Kaleo Jones was a First Team Offensive pick.

The Bulldogs also had 10 players – Randon Tuitama, Fano Tuisila, Sean Noda, Edward Ayers, Leapyear Mafi, Kualii Moefu, Jonah Lapitan, Alefosio Kelekolio, Jorge Rios and Kainalu Spencer – earn Honorable Mentions.