Kalani Falcons On Top In Post-season OIA Soccer Honors

Kalani High’s Leo Klink saved some of his biggest goals for his biggest games, but his consistency was even better in the recently completed prep soccer season.

A senior, Klink led the state with 25 goals and led the Falcons to an appearance in the Division I state championship game Feb. 18. Kalani finished 15-2 on the season (10-0 in the OIA East), which included an 11-game win streak at one point. In a riveting state tournament run, it also beat Punahou in the quarterfinals and followed with a win over Kapolei in the semifinals. In both games, Klink scored the winning goal. For his efforts, he has been named OIA East Boys’ Soccer Player of the Year.

He was joined on the East’s First Team by team-mates Yoshinori Tamukai (defense) and Bryan Yamada (midfield). Tamukai was Kalani’s second-leading scorer and finished in a tie for seventh overall amongst the state’s leaders with nine goals.

Head coach Michael Ching was named Coach of the Year. His team also had four players – Kevin Carroll (midfield), Kazuto Moribe (defender), Cory Oshiro (defender) and Shawn Donnelly – named to the Second Team, while teammate Scott Manago received Honorable Mention. Carroll also finished among the top 15 scorers in the state, finishing with 8.

Klink, Carroll, Tamukai and Moribe were also picked for the Division I All-Tournament team at the state soccer championships.

Kaiser also had a stellar season, finishing 8-3-1 overall (8-1-1 in the East). Its lone league loss was a 2-1 decision to Kalani at mid-season.

Four Cougars were named to the East’s First Team, including Jason Khamvongsa (midfield), Bryston Nham (midfield), Tyler Costa (defender) and Lorenzo Reeves (goalkeeper). Nham finished the season as Kaiser’s leading scorer with eight tallies. Jason Cisneros, Max Meredith and Jarin Kinoshita received Honorable Mention.

Wenrui Sun (midfield) was selected to the First Team from Kaimuki, which competed in the OIA White this season. Bulldogs receiving Honorable Mention were Keoki Kaiahua, Tae Hee Lee, Daniel Tsang, Bryan Quach, Lee Fujino and Cody Abe.