Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

HPCSN Honors Kidani, Takumi

Two West-area legislators will be honored at Hawaii Public Charter Schools Network’s awards ceremony from 6 to 9 p.m. May 14 in Pomaikai Ballrooms at Dole Cannery.

The nonprofit’s awards ceremony recognizes outstanding charter schools and leaders for the 2014-2015 school year.

State Sen. Michelle Kidani of District 18 (Mililani Town, portions of Waipio Gentry, Waikele, Village Park and Royal Kunia) and state Rep. Roy Takumi of District 35 (Pearl City, Manana, Waipio) were named Legislators of the Year.

“Our theme this year, ‘Changing the Education Paradigm,’ is indicative of the individuals and schools we will be honoring at this year’s awards,” stated HPCSN executive director Lynn Finnegan. “This group reflects the innovations that take place in charter schools across the state each day, and how those innovative practices provide effective educational choices for Hawaii’s keiki and their families.”

The dinner is open to the public, and tickets of varying sponsorship can be purchased online at 2015hawaiicharterschoolsawards.eventbrite.com or by calling 380-6403.