Hopeau Earns Top Soccer Honors

Kapolei junior soccer midfielder Shandon Hopeau has been named OIA West Player of the Year, the league revealed recently.

Hopeau scored 20 goals to help lead the Hurricanes to a third-place finish in the OIA postseason tournament.

The team finished 11-2-2 overall and made the quarterfinals of the Division I state tournament, where it was eliminated by eventual runner-up Iolani in the closing minutes of the second overtime.

After playing to a pair of ties in their first two OIA West games, Kapolei reeled off eight straight wins (including a 1-0 triumph over eventual OIA and DI state champion Mililani) to earn the No. 2 seed from the West for the league’s postseason tourney.

The OIA’s All-Conference teams are chosen in a vote of league coaches at season’s end. Hopeau was joined on the West’s First Team by team-mates Makana Breault (goalkeeper), CJ Harvey (attacker) and Lyric De Leon (defender).

Breault, who is a junior, held six opponents scoreless and yielded more than one goal in only one game all season.

A senior, Harvey was huge for Kapolei down the stretch, tallying nine of his 13 goals in the last seven games.

De Leon is a junior who still has a year of eligibility remaining.

Kapolei sophomore mid-fielder Garrison Lee and senior defender Quinn Thierbach also were named to the West’s Second Team.

The team also saw Robert Bootes and Beau Meyer earn Honorable Mentions.

• Pearl City had a pair of First Team picks in midfielder Jay Sato and defender Matthew Cabacungan.

The Chargers won their first seven games and finished 8-3 overall. The team also landed four players — attacker Daniel Woo, midfielders Luke Wyman and Devin Ajimine, and defender Nathan Nazarene — on the West’s Second Team.

Earning Honorable Mentions were Alex Chun, Hector Jacobo, Ryan Nakano and Cedric Silva.

• Campbell junior Chay Mattos made the First Team from the Sabers for a second straight year as a defender.

The Sabers finished 3-3-4. They also placed goal-keeper Cole Turner, attacker Bryson Maximo and defender Kona Reiny-Aloy on the West’s Second Team. Teammates Alex Bryhn, Franklin Calvo, Ikaika Wilkerson and David Tupper earned Honorable Mentions.

• Waipahu had five players earn Honorable Mentions: Isa Agbayani, Dave Campos, Storm DeAsis, Desmond Major and Francisco Villa.

The Marauders, who went 3-9-3 overall during the season, finished as the OIA White runner-up to Kailua on their way to qualifying for the DII state tournament.