Girls Basketball Honors For East

Even with defenders ever mindful of her whereabouts at all times, Kaimuki’s Ashley Sauvusa still delivered big for the Bulldogs this past season, averaging 16.2 points per game in 19 outings.

“It doesn’t look like she was (a focus of the defense), when you look at the box score from our game, but that’s how good she is,” Mililani head coach Patrick Basilio joked of Sauvusa, who scored 28 against his Trojans in the state basketball tournament. “She’s relentless.”

Sauvusa’s selection as the OIA Red Conference Player of the Year in recent days came as no surprise. A senior, she was the catalyst for a Bulldog team that was the OIA runner-up to Pearl City at the conference’s post-season tournament en route to finishing 167 overall.

The Bulldogs also made the state tournament and went unbeaten (11-0) in the Red.

Consistency separated Sauvusa as one of the best players in the state as she failed to reach double-figures in scoring in only three of 19 games, dating back to preseason. Her season-high of 28 points came in her last game as a Bulldog, a loss to Mililani at states. Her average placed her second (to Kahuku’s Leighlani Paselio) in the state overall in scoring.

Teammate Dejah Faasoa also was named a First Team All-Conference selection, capping off a stellar career of her own at Kaimuki.

“She is so heady on the court, and she has the total package,” Basilio said of Faasoa. “She’s so unselfish with the basketball. She doesn’t take that many shots, but she’s efficient.”

Bulldogs Canny Aikau, Keana Paez, Shantaeus Ramos-Dias and Krysta Yasui earned Honorable Mention.

Kaiser also was a force in the East, going 13-5 (10-1 in OIA East) under Simon Bitanga and earning a berth at the state tournament. The Cougars’ Chandler Arce was named to the First Team. Her 28 three-pointers placed her among the state’s leaders. Her season was highlighted by wins over Moanalua and Kailua, in which she connected on four 3-pointers in each.

Teammate Micaela Bitanga was picked for the Second Team from Kaimuki, while Ashley Soong, Darcy Goulsby, Kiana Nakai and Kellie Sakai were Honorable Mentions.

Kalani had a trio of players earn Honorable Mention: Carly Kakuda, Taylor Murai and Haley Omiya.

Receiving Honorable Mention from Anuenue were Kuulei Gante, Kaulawena Halemano, Kahala Kaowili and Taua Lahela.