Four Trojans Make OIA West’s First Team Soccer All-Stars

The Mililani boys soccer team has grown accustomed to receiving every opponent’s best effort, given its success rate through the years. Despite being a marked opponent in 2013-14, the Trojans delivered big again, winning their first 11 games en route to a 14-2 overall record.

A byproduct of the stellar season was having four players named as OIA West First Team All-Stars. (Only second-place Kapolei landed as many on the first team.)

Attacker Chris Galang, midfielder Marc Matas, defender Jeron Cunningham and goalie Robin Potts all were named to the First Team. League all-star teams are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

As in past years, Mililani was one of the state’s top defensive teams, posting shutouts in 10 of its 14 victories. It finished third at the OIA Red post-season tournament and went on to win the consolation title at the Division I state tournament.

Midfielder Micah Ishikawa and defender Kala Judd both were named to the Second Team, while teammate Scott Inouye received Honorable Mention.

* Leilehua attacker Demar Stewart also was named to the West’s First Team. A senior, Stewart scored seven goals for the Mules, who took second at the OIA White tournament. Leilehua also advanced to the DII state tournament, finishing 5-9 overall. Aaron Calabrese, John Enos, Jean-Marcos Garcia, Collin May and Connor Murakami all earned Honorable Mentions.

* Earning Honorable Mention from Waialua were Elmer Agtina, Caelen Alejandro, Thomas Pule and Christian Paracuelles-Calaro.

Girls soccer honors

The OIA also released its girls All-Star list with Mililani landing two players on the West’s First Team in midfielder Kayla Braunthal and defender Brittany McClay.

Mililani finished 14-4 overall, including earning a berth in the Division I girls state tournament.

The Trojans also placed attacker Cassandra Stetser, mid-fielder Robyn Peiler, defender Kanoe Morihara and goalie Tasalina Leoso on the West’s Second Team. Tia Furuta and Kailana Kaeo both earned Honorable from Mililani.

* Leilehua, which advanced to the championship game of the OIA White tournament before losing 2-0 to Kalaheo, had six players selected for Honorable Mentions in Karley Shigeoka, McKenzie Jones, Kereese Martin, Cailyn Amantiad, Jessica Misajon and Shelby Jenks.

* Earning Honorable Mention from Waialua were Ashley Nakoa-Kawahakui, Jordyn Bjur, Terina Lacar, Olivia Prindle, Emma Knott and Brandy Munoz-Dalao.