Football Trojans Dominate OIA’s Blue All-Star Selections

Mililani’s dominance of the OIA Blue conference on the football field this fall was not lost on opposing coaches when they gathered to vote on the league’s All-Star teams.

As on the field, the Trojans dominated on the All-Star lists with a league-best nine First Team picks. Six of its First Team All-Stars came from the offensive side of the ball, led by Offensive Player of the Year McKenzie Milton.

The Trojans’ junior quarterback lived up to all preseason hype, throwing for 2,918 yards and 28 touchdowns through their first 11 games. He also rushed for 764 yards and 12 scores.

Joining Milton from Mililani on the Blue’s First Team Offense were running back Vavae Malepeai, wide receiver Kalakaua Timoteo and linemen Jordan Agasiva, Andru Tovi and Derrick Fetui-Suapaia.

Malepeai rushed for 1,155 yards and 23 touchdowns through his first 11 games, while Timoteo led Mililani in catches (48), yards (871) and touchdown receptions (seven).

Teammate Bronson Ramos made the Second Team as a wide receiver.

As a unit, the Mililani offense topped the 40-point plateau in all but two of its first 12 games.

Mililani went 7-0 in the Blue and defeated Kaiser (54-14), Campbell (42-15) and Kahuku (20-7) to win its second straight OIA Title. The Trojans were to meet Punahou in the Division I state championship game last Friday.

Lineman Rex Manu led the way for Mililani, winning Defensive Player of the Year honors. Teammates Kaimana Padello and Tielu Mamea also were named to the Defensive First Team as a lineman and safety, respectively. Defensive back Ty Apana-Purcell was named to the Second Team.

Mililani’s Rod York was voted the Blue’s Coach of the Year by his peers.

* Just as Mililani cleaned up on individual honors in the Blue, neighboring Leilehua was well-represented on the OIA Red All-Conference lists, led by Offensive Player of the Year Ikaika Piceno.

Piceno made the First Team as both a running back and a utility player. He was the Mules’ leading rusher and scored seven touchdowns on the year.

In addition to Piceno, Leilehua had six players — quarterback Kalanimoku Pauole, wide receiver Toma Savea, wide receiver Tyreek Keough, defensive back Deshaun Osborne and offensive linemen Sifa Hufanga and Soakimi Hufanga — earn First Team Honors in the Red.

The Mules also had five players named to the Red’s Second Team, including offensive lineman Netane Muti, linebacker AJ Gainwell, defensive back Charles Watson and defensive linemen Allan Lagaaia and Soga Eli.

In the OIA White Conference, Mila Lele was selected to the First Team Offense as a utility player.

* Waialua Bulldog team-mates Kaimi Kamai (offensive line), Kapono Kamai (offensive line), Aaron Nunez (defensive line) and Thomas Pule (line-backer) were named to the White’s Second Team.