Focus on Windward Oahu

National Education Association Foundation’

Image 1 of 6

At the National Education Association Foundation’s annual Salute to Excellence in Education gala Feb. 10 in Washington, D.C., Ben Parker Elementary teacher Jonathan Gillentine (with lei) of Kaneohe, an early childhood educator nominated by HSTA, was one of five finalists to win the Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence and $10,000. With him at the presentation are (from left) NEA president Dennis Van Roekel, HSTA president Wil Okabe, the NEA’s Harriet Sanford and Elizabeth Oliver-Farrow, and Horace Mann Companies president Peter Heckman. Photo from the foundation.