Focus on WIndward Oahu


Image 2 of 8

A dozen public school principals, including two from Windward schools, received a $1,000 personal cash reward March 23 from Island Insurance Foundation, and one will receive the $25,000 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award at the foundation's April 11 dinner. Officials and nominees for the annual award are (front, from left) Kapolei High's Elden Esmeralda, Red Hill Elementary's Mona Smoot, Waipahu High's Keith Hayashi, Nanakuli Elementary's Wendy Takahashi, Kahaluu's Naomi Matsuzaki, Royal's Ann Sugibayashi, (back) DOE deputy superintendent Ronn Nozoe, Island Insurance chairman and CEO Colbert Matsumoto, Maunawili's Ryan Amine, Puu Kukui's Chad Okamoto, Hanalei's Corey Nakamura, Fern's Tiare Uli'i, Kilohana's Richard Stevens, Keaau's Chad Farias and Island Insurance Foundation president Tyler Tokioka. Photo from Island Insurance Foundation.


Do you enjoy taking pictures? We accept good-quality photographs from Windward Oahu residents. They should be in good taste, in sharp focus and depict life in Windward Oahu.

Mail photos to MidWeek Zones, 500 Ala Moana Blvd, Suite 7-500, Honolulu, HI 96813. Remember to include a description of the photo, the names of all the people in it, your name and phone number. Send digital photos by email to