Five Trojans Named To All-Star Team

The afterglow from the Mililani boys soccer team’s riveting season continued last week with the announcement of postseason individual honors.

The Trojans landed a league-high four First Teamers on the OIA West All-Star team, including attacker Kalahikiola Judd, midfielders Marc Matas and Treyton Kong, and defender Jeron Cunningham. The teams are selected in a vote by league coaches at season’s end.

Judd finished as the team’s leading scorer with 15 goals, which also placed him sixth overall in the OIA. Matas, Kong and Cunningham were big contributors on the defensive side, helping to shut out eight of the team’s final 10 opponents.

Mililani went 15-1 overall, including a 9-1 mark in the West season. The lone loss came Jan. 6, when Mililani dropped a 1-0 decision to Kapolei, which went on to take second in the division behind the Trojans.

Mililani was nearly flawless the rest of the way, capturing both the OIA Red title as well as the Division I state title, and ending the season on a 10-game winning streak.

Mililani defeated Moanalua 2-0, Kalaheo 1-0 and Kalani 1-0 to claim the OIA title. At states, it defeated Kahuku 4-2, Punahou 1-0 and Kalani 1-0 to win their first title since 2012.

(Mililani has now won six DI state titles, including a run of four straight under now-retired coach Jeff Yamamoto from 2001-2004.)

The Trojans also placed Jared Choquette on the West’s Second Team as an attacker, while teammates JP Carson, Jamin Fonseca, Spencer Hokama, Isaiah Kuloloia and Anthony Menor earned Honorable Mentions.

Mililani’s Steve McGehee was voted Coach of the Year in the West by his peers.

The Trojans also had four players make the All-Tournament Team, including Choquette, Fonseca, Kuloloia and Cunningham, who was named Most Outstanding Player.

Leilehua, which went 2-2 in the West, had five players earn Honorable Mentions: Jensen Cassum,

Keanu Hirota, Owen Okada, Collin May and Nicolas Sharrock.

In Division II, Waialua had six Honorable Mentions: Elmer Agtina, Caelan Alejandro, Holten Bjur, Brendan Hardin, Thomas Pule and Christian Paracuelles-Calaro. The Bulldogs finished 5-7.