East Oahu Soccer Standouts Plentiful Among OIA Honorees

Kaiser’s Kai Hasegawa has been named OIA East Girls Soccer Player of the Year. The junior forward scored a team-high 13 goals (fourth best in the OIA

Red) for the Cougars, who won 11 of their first 12 games en route to earning the top seed out of the East for the OIA’s post-season tournament.

Kaiser went on to reach the OIA title game following riveting wins over Mililani (1-0) and Kapolei (2-1) in the quarterfinals and semi-finals, respectively. The Cougars lost a hard-fought game to Pearl City in the OIA finale. Kaiser’s only regular-season loss came on the road at Kahuku (3-2) Dec. 28, but the team rebounded to win five straight games from there.

Defender Alicia Chang and goalkeeper Corina Edgington also made the First Team, while mid-fielder Alea Amano was named to the Second Team from the Cougars. OIA All-Star teams are selected in a vote of league coaches at season’s end.

Kaiser’s Adolf Samuels was chosen Coach of the Year in the East. Noelle Mercado and Allyson Matsuoka earned Honorable Mention.

* Junior Tori Chinen was named to the First Team from Kalani as a mid-fielder. The Falcons finished 3-7 in the OIA East, while Erica Shinn and Lauren Cook earned Honorable Mentions.

* Kaimuki’s Lea Winter made the Second Team as a mid-fielder. The Bulldogs also had Yumi Anton, Jill Chang, Leina Baker, Lovelyn Anton and Vicki Huynh earn Honorable Mentions.

OIA Basketball All-Stars Named

Kalani basketball standout Carly Kakuda was named to the OIA East First Team, the league announced recently. A senior guard, she averaged 15.3 points per game for the Falcons, who finished as the OIA White Tournament’s Division II runner-up to Farrington. Kakuda topped the 20-point plateau on four occasions, including a spectacular 27-point performance in a 59-57 loss Jan. 9 to Farrington. She also posted 21 points in the OIA DII title game Jan. 29.

Teammates Samantha Shizuru, Taili Iinuma, Taylor Murai and Tristyn Nishubun earned Honorable Mentions.

* Kaiser, which finished 7-4 for the season, saw five players earn Honorable Mentions, including Brandi Arita, Brooke Ho, Chantelle Arce, Roselyn Shimaoka and Skye Keao.

* Earning Honorable Mention from Kaimuki were Angela Wright, Brandi Pfeiffer-Kekoa, Jennylynn Jesse, Perpetua Bregoli, Seplynn Aikau and Valerie Wilson. jackster.1969@ yahoo.com