Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.            

DOE Names Teacher Fellows

The state Department of Education has selected two Central Oahu teachers to join its inaugural Hawaii State Teacher Fellows, sponsored by the nonprofit Hope Street Group.

The panel of 17 public school educators will share their perspective on ways to implement the mandated Common Core curriculum.

According to the DOE, the statewide fellows were picked for their “strong individual commitments to improving learning outcomes.” The appointment lasts one year — and beyond, if requested by the fellows themselves.

Area fellows are Yuuko Arikawa of the Leilehua Complex, who was the state’s 2010 Milken Educator Award winner for her achievements at Kaala Elementary School; and

Mililani resident Dana Ishii, a special education teacher at Kanoelani Elementary.

“This collaborative program will reinforce our strategic work toward student and staff success in our schools,” stated school superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.

Funding support comes from Harold K.L. Castle, McInerny and Hawaii Community foundations.