DOE Fellows Include Area Teachers

The state Department of Education has selected five West Oahu teachers to join its inaugural Hawaii State Teacher Fellows, sponsored by the nonprofit Hope Street Group.

The panel of 17 public school educators will share their perspective on ways to implement the mandated Common Core curriculum. According to the DOE, the statewide fellows were picked for their “strong individual commitments to improving learning outcomes.” The appointment lasts one year — and beyond, if requested by the fellows themselves.

Area fellows are Aiea High language arts department chairwoman Tracey Lynn Idica, Kanoelani Elementary special education teacher Dana Ishii, Aiea Intermediate science teacher Leslie Toy, Ilima Intermediate teacher Tracy Monroe and Waipahu Elementary teacher Christopher Rodriguez.

“This collaborative program will reinforce our strategic work toward student and staff success in our schools,” stated school superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.

Funding support comes from Harold K.L. Castle, McInerny and Hawaii Community foundations.