Civic Club Luncheon To Honor Distinguished ‘Natives of Koolau’

Those who care the most for the Ko’olaupoko community – and have proved it through their actions – will be honored Dec. 15 during the annual Ko’olaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club luncheon, which also will celebrate the group’s 75th anniversary.

The lunch is set for 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at Koolau Ballrooms, and will honor “Natives of Koolau” who have advocated in their own way for the preservation of Windward Oahu lands over the past few decades. Mike McCartney and Charlie Toguchi will emcee the program, which includes a country store, displays, silent auction (for scholarships) and entertainment by Olomana and the two “D’s,” Del Beazley and Dwight Kanae. Admission is a $60 donation, and reservations can be made by calling Harriet DeCosta at 239-9334 or at

The 2012 Distinguished Kamaaina are listed below.

* Bobby Fernandez of Waiahole, who worked to protect Waiahole and Wai-kane valleys from development during the 1970s

* Guy Nakamoto of Ka’alaea, active in many preservation efforts, especially water resources

* Mel and the late Randy Kalahiki of Waihee, brothers and longtime advocates for Hawaiian land, water and cultural resources

* Charlie and John Reppun of Kahaluu, brothers known for protecting taro lands, water resources and support of wise planning

* Rocky and Jerry Kaluhiwa of Heeia Kea, a couple whose strong advocacy discouraged major development attempts of the area, including the Heeia meadow-lands

* Mahealani Cypher of Kaneohe who advocates for preservation of cultural, natural and agricultural resources, opposing H-3 for those reasons, and promoting wise planning

* Muriel Seto and Donna Wong of Kailua for their work to preserve Kawainui wetlands, establish heritage sites and promote wise planning

* Kawahine Kamakea Ohelo of Waimanalo who advocated for Hawaiian land rights and opposed evictions of Hawaiians from Waimanalo lands

* Phil Estermann of Maunalua for his leadership in the fight to “Save Sandy Beach.”

The club also will honor members Francine Gora and Jill Akana as outstanding 2012 volunteers.