Church’s Scholarships The Most Ever

Windward United Church of Christ has announced its 2015 Holmes Scholars, a list comprised of the largest number of awardees in the scholarship program’s 55-year history.

“We were impressed with the quality and passion of each applicant,” explained selection committee member Richard Galluzzi.

The honorees are Jessica Dickerson of Kalaheo High, Kelsey Ann Mamizuka of Kahuku High; Kamaile Galindo, Chris Makaneole-Waoilama and Logan Myers of Kailua High; Desiree Aitavale of Waipahu High, Katherine Bratt of St. Andrew’s Priory, Dutch Claybaugh of Damien Memorial High, Xavier Claybaugh of California Maritime Academy and Farao Kolone Maileoni of Farrington High.

The Jerome C. and Eva P. Holmes Fund is named for the former WUCC pastor who “had a passion for serving the island’s youth,” supported by donations from Holmes’ family and other foundations, according to Peggy Anne Siegmund, who chairs this year’s celebration of the young scholars.

The public is invited to celebrate their selection during worship services at 9 a.m. Sunday at 38 Kaneohe By Drive. For details, call 254-3802.