Charger Taamu Named Top Offensive Player In OIA White

Pearl City’s Jordan Taamu has been selected as the OIA White Offensive Player of the Year, the league revealed recently.

A senior quarterback, Taamu threw for 1,749 yards (and 27 touchdown passes) and ran for another 420 yards (and three touchdowns on the ground) in helping to lead the Chargers to a runner-up finish to Nanakuli in the OIA White.

The team finished its 2014 season 8-3 overall (7-1 during the White’s regular season), but was defeated by Nanakuli (37-36) in overtime in the OIA White title game.

The team also earned a berth in the Division II state championships, but was eliminated by host Kapaa in a first-round game on Kauai.

Despite those setbacks, Pearl City enjoyed yet another stellar season, led in part by Taamu and a prolific offense that topped the 30-point plateau in all but two games.

In addition to Taamu, running back Dominic Maneafaiga and lineman Kordell Vaa also made the First Team Offense from Pearl City.

Maneafaiga, who was both the team’s leading rusher (673 yards, 10 rushing touchdowns) and receiver (619 yards, 10 touchdown receptions), also made the First Team as a utility player.

Wide receiver Garrett Kanamu was a Second Team pick on Offense for Pearl City.

On the defensive side, Pearl City’s lineman P.J. Solomon, linebacker Petro Mataia and defensive back Joseph Komomua made the First Team.

* In Division I, Campbell High School was well-represented on the Red All-Conference lists after going 7-4 overall (5-2 in the Red) this fall.

The Sabers boasted five First Team picks, including wide receiver Jayce Bantolina, defensive linemen Trestan Ludiazo and Unity Kea Cambra, and defensive backs Abiel Taito and Solomon Matautia.

The Sabers also had six players — defensive back Dylan Villanueva, running back Terell Johnson, defensive lineman Josiah Mageo, linebacker Isaiah Gibson and offensive linemen Arona Amosa and Boss

Tafai — named to the Red’s Second Team.

* Kapolei High School, which finished 5-4 overall (3-4 in the Red), had four players on the First Team: defensive back Bryson Hughes, linebacker Ronald Matautia, offensive lineman Viliamu Auwae and utility player Tristan Centeio.

Receiving Second Team honors from the Kapolei Hurricanes were defensive back Malik Smith, linebacker Sam Nalu, defensive lineman Johnny Morrison, utility player Alton Julius and wide receivers Edward Kea and Pesi Savea.

* Aiea High School, which finished 2-6 overall in 2014, had a trio of players chosen to the Second Team: defensive lineman Jeremiah Leovao, defensive back Gabe Igafo and offensive lineman Kolby Castillo.

* In the OIA Blue, Waipahu High School had three players — wide receiver Jordan Taylor, offensive lineman Richard Maifea and linebacker Jacob Anae — make the league’s Second Team.