Campbell Standouts Earn First Team Honors After OIA Win

Campbell softball stand-outs Summer Palipti and Tiana Rosario helped lead the team to an OIA Red title this spring, and the play of both girls was noticed by opposing coaches, who voted Palipti (pitcher) and Rosario (shortstop) as OIA First Team All-Stars in a post-season vote.

The Sabers won the league for a second straight year under Coach Shag Hermosura and finished 12-6 overall.

They also were a win away from advancing to the title game of the Division I state softball tournament before dropping a tough loss to ILH powerhouse Punahou. Campbell defeated Moanalua to finish third at the state tournament, capping off a riveting post-season.

Palipti finished with an ERA of 2.47 and was 9-5 overall. She was the winning pitcher in the OIA title game and also batted .436 with four home runs. Rosario batted .340 in the leadoff spot in addition to stellar play in the field.

The Sabers also placed senior outfielder Jessica Arata and freshman Caragh Morris on the Second Team.

Pearl City had a pair of First Team picks in freshman second baseman Hope Casarez and senior out-fielder JoeAnn Rapoza. Receiving Honorable Mention were fellow Chargers Taylor Kawakami, Robi Kami, Nat Kang, Joe-Ann Rapoza, Anuhea Rapoza, Ariela Bali, Kristin Frost, Cydny Rivera, Naomi H. Hama and Makana Kekaulike.

Junior outfielder StaciaAl Mahoe was named to the First Team from Kapolei, which was the OIA tournament runner-up.

The Hurricanes went 10-9 overall en route to another state tournament appearance. Senior Kacee Navarro was named to the Second Team as a pitcher, while Shaycelynn Hoohuli, Tayzma Meyers, Rachel McKean, Kanaiaupuni Smith and Amayha Dycus earned Honorable Mention.

Waipahu senior Nala Viliamu made the Second Team as a catcher.

The Marauders finished 10-9 overall this season en route to a state tournament appearance and also named nine members – Shevan DeFreitas, Laugatausala Pedebone, AJ Miranda, Kylie Nishino, Tammy Viliamu, Tevanah Niuatoa, Shandell Palencia, Taliiaga Viliamu and Lauren Tauanuu – Honorable Mentions.

In Division II, Aiea junior Tiana Pantil made the OIA’s First Team as a second baseman. Na Ali’i finished 12-6 overall this spring and took third at the OIA White post-season tournament.

Aiea went on to finish fifth at the DII state tournament. Senior catcher Kendra Chong and junior first baseman Kendra Kakazu also made the Second Team.

Receiving Honorable Mention were Raisa Strom-Okimoto, Kayla Higuchi, Mapu Tauala, Kaile Alama, Ashley

Nakamoto, Riley Tagawa and Brandi Mahoe.

Email Jack Danilewicz at jackster.1969@