Campbell Running Back Named To OIA Red West First Team

By the beginning of fall camp in August, Campbell High’s Paul Andrew Rhoden already had established himself as one of the top players to watch in the Oahu Interscholastic Association’s Red West Conference. The senior running back lived up to those expectations and then some this season as he put together yet another stellar year.

Rhoden recently was rewarded for his efforts when he was chosen as a First Team All-Star in a vote of league coaches. He averaged 5.3 yards per carry (with 46 yards on the ground) and scored four touchdowns this season for the Sabers, who finished 6-4 overall (3-3 in the Red West). He also had a touchdown receiving.

Campbell senior lineman Logan Santiago also was chosen to the First Team Offense, while teammates Justin Tago Su’e, Amosa Amosa Jr. and Adam Amosa made the Second Team. The Sabers also placed linebacker Solomon Leaeno on the First Team Defense, while interior lineman Amate Savusa earned Second Team honors. Earning Honorable Mention from Campbell were Isaac Hurd, Triston Pebria, Jayce Bantolina, Brannon Bantolina, David Palmeira, Troy Moega, David Ontai, Toese Tia, Devon Briones, Canaan Saole and Corian Reyes-Thomas.

Waipahu, which moved up from Division II this season, had three players earn First Team honors. On the offensive side of the ball, wide receiver Dylan Pakau and utility player Matapua Tulafale were both chosen. Defensively, linebacker Wesley Nagaseu made the First Team from the Marauders, who finished 2-4 in league play this fall.

Lineman Jonathan Leautu and safety Solomon Matautia were chosen for the Second Team. The Marauders also had 17 players named Honorable Mention: Kaimi Paredes, Kai Mercado-Aiona, Isaiah Alama, James Nunuha, Keaka Paredes, Damien Matautia, Joshua Lepisi, Jedidiah Mageo, Mataio Fualema, Ezekiel Taylor, Jonathan Estranero, Johnny Tuia, Mark Failauga, Tydro Ate-Taito, Beaver Lagima, Joseph Kahele-Ayau and Jordan Mendiola.

Aiea High senior AJ Aleaga made the First Team as a defensive back. Lineman Ualesi Saale was a Second Team selection on defense. Na Ali’i also placed linemen Kela Grace and Drew McDurmin on the offense’s Second Team. Earning Honorable Mention from Aiea were Mana Kaahanui, Samata Talia, Kamakana Apelu, Jodeci Mauai, Koby Castillo, Ropeti Faumuina, Albert Crichton, Christian Fonseca, Benjamin Taliulu, Michael Taliulu, Glenn Igafo, Elijah Tausaga, Kyle Ishikawa, Leuia Iose, and Jae Won Huh.

Kapolei, which went 3-3 in the Red West, had a trio of players selected as Second Team All Stars. Micah Kapoi was chosen on the offensive side as a lineman, while linebacker Micah Paris and safety Kaeo Kanoa were selected on the defensive side. Paris and Kapoi are only juniors with a year of eligibility remaining.

Aizon Kahana, Jacob Kukahiko, Dylan Keomaka, Mitchell Moses, Alton Julius, Mana Reis, Andrew Julius, Colin Kaaikaulua, William Auwae, Urima Foi, Kalani Valameilalo, Elias McMoore, Owen Souza, Israel Latu-Reyes and Moses Wiseman received Honorable Mention from Kapolei.