AAWU Rewards Nine Scholars

Receiving scholarships at a May 5 luncheon from the Windward chapter of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) are (front, from left) Mary Ann Fellezs, Cheyenne Low, Mary Dawn Fenton, Rebecca Weible, (back) Emma Koa and Davelynn Kaahanui-Frankovic. Not pictured: Lisa Ishikawa, Christine Rombawa and Ronda Armstrong. Photo from Jane Carlile.

The Windward AAUW has secured its future – for the 42nd year – by awarding more than $14,000 in scholarships this spring to Windward high school graduates and college students.

The largest of eight branches in Hawaii, the Windward branch of the American Association of University Women gave out new and renewed grants at a luncheon May 5 to nine young women from Windward Oahu.

They are:

* Mary Ann Fellezs (Castle 2008) of Kaneohe, who is studying elementary education at UH West Oahu while working as a tutor at Windward Community College. She also teaches swimming at Windward YMCA and maintains a 4.0 gpa. This is her fifth AAUW scholarship.

* Mary Dawn Fenton (Kalaheo 2010) of Kailua is studying liberal arts at WCC. This is her second AAUW award.

* Emma Koa (Kamehameha 2012) of Waimanalo will attend UH Manoa.

* Cheyenne Low (Kalaheo 2012) of Kailua will attend UH Manoa.

* Davelynn Kaahanui-Frankovic (Kailua 2009) of Waimanalo attends WCC.

* Rebecca Weible (Castle 2012) of Kaneohe will study marine biology at UH Manoa.

* Lisa Ishikawa (Castle 1998) of Kaneohe attends WCC and plans to study air conditioning/refrigeration at Honolulu Community College.

* Christine Rombawa (Castle 1995) is at WCC and will transfer to the nursing program at Kapiolani Community College.

* Ronda Armstrong (Castle 1987, HCC 2005) of Waimanalo is aiming for a liberal arts and Hawaiian studies baccalaureate degree at WCC.

The AAUW’s mission is to advance opportunities for women and combat sex discrimination in higher education and the workplace. Membership is open to women who have earned twoor four-year degrees. For details, go to aauw-windward.org.